Wooden fence post in Water Hazard?

KenL

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
9,568
Location
East Lothian
Visit site
Playing in a comp recently my fellow competitor's ball was on the beach, a lateral hazard.

Next to his ball was a part of a wooden fence post.

We knew that a natural object like a branch, stone or seaweed could not be moved but could this have been moved it was "man made"?

He did not move it and managed to successfully play his ball from the hazard.
 
Playing in a comp recently my fellow competitor's ball was on the beach, a lateral hazard.

Next to his ball was a part of a wooden fence post.

We knew that a natural object like a branch, stone or seaweed could not be moved but could this have been moved it was "man made"?

He did not move it and managed to successfully play his ball from the hazard.

Is a fence post a loose impedement? I'd have moved it
 
. if the post was iron you'd have probably not given it a 2md thought and moved it.
 
Is a fence post a loose impedement? I'd have moved it

I'd suggest a wooden fence post is an obstruction (just like a water hazard stake), not a loose impediment. If it's movable, move it; if not, play the ball as it lies - no free relief since the ball is in a water hazard.
 
I'd suggest a wooden fence post is an obstruction (just like a water hazard stake), not a loose impediment. If it's movable, move it; if not, play the ball as it lies - no free relief since the ball is in a water hazard.

if guess you'd need to see it and decide
 
A fence post, although made from a natural material is not a natural object and so is not a loose impediment. It is an obstruction. If it can be moved without undue effort and there is no local rule deeming it to be immovable, it is a movable obstruction. There is no restriction to moving a movable obstruction, meaning that you can move it in a hazard when your ball is in the same hazard [Rule 24-1]. If it is an immovable obstruction in a water hazard or lateral water hazard,however, you may not take relief from it if your ball lies in the same hazard [Rule 24-2b].
 
Last edited:
You're welcome, but please note the correction I've made. I shouldn't have said you can't move an immovable obstruction - of course you can't - and have changed it to say that you can't take relief from an immovable obstruction in a water hazard or lateral water hazard if your ball lies in the same hazard [Rule 24-2b].
 
Just to be double sure of this as it comes up often on courses where the beach and its flotsam is in play. Am I right in taking from what is written above that if my ball is in the hazard ( the beach) I can move a coke can, an old crate, a bit of rope, a brick, etc but not anything natural e.g. rock, shell, seaweed etc ?

Thanks,
 
That's right. You've got the correct distinction between an artificial object (obstruction) which you can move in a water hazard or lateral water hazard and a natural one (loose impediment) which you cannot.
 
Top