Winter Wedge Bounce - Bunkers and Muddy Turf

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
With the wet weather arriving and bunkers getting wet (if not out of play) and softer lies here for a while, what is the best type of bounce to use as online advice seems to differ. Some talk about a low bounce for the harder compact sand but then a higher bounce for wet conditions. I have a 10 degree 58 degree wedge I use in bunkers and around the sand but went to a 6 degree bounce in the practice bunker yesterday and that worked really well. It was OK off bare lies that were still reasonably firm (where the water hadn't sat and it been able to drain and dry) but wasn't so hot out of the boggier areas. Is 10 degrees and optimum "all rounder" or do I need more or less bounce

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Taking bunkers only, I've tried both extremes. I had a SureOut which has all the bounce in the world, for a couple of years. It was great in fluffy sand, but when there was not much sand or it was hard in winter, pretty useless. I don't use it at the moment, I've gone to a 9 bounce 60° instead - open the face a little, and when the sand is hard I try and get a little steeper and chop down on it a little more. That's my best chance of getting out, if I catch it a bit clean then it's flying over the green, but I really can't ask for too much when the sand is like that. Just happy if I get out in one.

I don't think lots of bounce is any good in hard sand, because it does what it says on the tin and bounces off the surface, knifing the ball into the face of the bunker. With less bounce you can come in steeper and cut through the surface a bit easier maybe.