Wind blown obstruction

rojamb

New member
Joined
Mar 8, 2022
Messages
1
Visit site
While playing a round, a players ball came to rest on a small piece of wind blown branch. Can it be declared loose and moveable obstruction under rule 15.2?
 
While playing a round, a players ball came to rest on a small piece of wind blown branch. Can it be declared loose and moveable obstruction under rule 15.2?
If it is detached from the tree it is a Loose Impediment and not a Moveable Obstruction. Rule 15.1 applies. You may move it but not the ball.
 
As an addition to this. My PP hit his ball into a wooded area it must of hit a tree and came to rest in the base of a fallen tree due to wind damage. Completely playable. So could he of taken a free drop due to the tree being in an un-natural position ? Was it an loose impediment even though couldn’t obviously move it ? We were unsure so took a penalty of unplayable lie.
 
As an addition to this. My PP hit his ball into a wooded area it must of hit a tree and came to rest in the base of a fallen tree due to wind damage. Completely playable. So could he of taken a free drop due to the tree being in an un-natural position ? Was it an loose impediment even though couldn’t obviously move it ? We were unsure so took a penalty of unplayable lie.
It doesn't matter where the tree was - no free drop.
Were the tree roots still in the ground? If so it is not a Loose Impediment. If was completely detached it would have been but if you couldn't move it without delaying play then your only option is unplayable.
 
Top