Why am i Hooking? (vid)

kid2

Money List Winner
Visit site
Can someone give me some pointers on my swing?

Ive never had a problem with slicing, i tend to hook shots from the tee when they go wrong.

Occasionally quite a bad duck hook.

Sometimes they will be pushed right a little, but again with no slice.

This shot was a moderate hook shot..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMU_XirFciQ&feature=player_embedded

Bert,
Im no expert here but if that hole is a slight dogleg left and the fairway your trying to hit is over your left shoulder as im looking at the video.....Your address position looks very closed in relation to where your aiming the clubhead.......
Its just an observation though......

kid2

Money List Winner
Visit site
Oh and i would introduce yourself to the Forum
too.....Its kind of an unwritten rule of everyday life on here....Hello by the way im Mike ;)....

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
I paused it and got lucky....first "saved" picture shows the clubhead inside the line (the path) a micro-second before you hit the ball. Normally I'd expect the ball to be obscured (depending on camera height) from view 6" from impact. So, you're hitting pushes and draws and hooks....no surprise. You won't get any slicing action with this swing...and that's great.
If you want to kill the hooks, you've got to train your path. Easier said than done.
(Especially since I've been trying to calm down the exact problem for a few days!!)

As it's the rarest of the problems I ever have/had have, I cannot offer huge insight. It's a downswing sequence issue. On the way down, just before impact, your body (shoulders, torso and legs) are square to the target.....I'd expect to see it way more open. You're going to need a pro or a magic drill to put this right. You have the makings of a good swing there though.
:)

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
I'd say your grip is a bit too strong causing the clubface to close through impact.