Which Way Would You Go

PNWokingham

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
3,710
Location
Berks
Visit site
You are playing in a matchplay knockout. Relaxed opponents. Winter rules in play. Your opposition moves the ball an inch or so to on the fairway to take his second. He didn't mark it and moved it well within the 6 inch rule. Would you call it and take him out of the hole or carry on?
 
You are playing in a matchplay knockout. Relaxed opponents. Winter rules in play. Your opposition moves the ball an inch or so to on the fairway to take his second. He didn't mark it and moved it well within the 6 inch rule. Would you call it and take him out of the hole or carry on?

Are you saying the ball has been moved out of the rough and onto the fairway?
 
Was he originally in the rough?? If so, winter rules doesn't come into play and should be called on it. Doesn't matter if it is an inch or 2 feet......rough is rough....
 
If he was on the fairway I wouldn't be too fussed, in fact exactly that happened to me today and I let it go.

If he was not on the fairway though, as DAVEYBOY asks, I'd not be too pleased and would probably call it, but before he played his stroke so it would just be a one shot penalty and replace.
 
i wouldn't worry about it, i assum you are on pick and place anyway so why worry.

at our place you have to move into the first cut ( boot it to the side) or place it on a mat, i'm not sure anyone would go though the correct marking proc, nothing gained.
 
Exactly - on a nice fairway bone dry (dryest on the course - although not that this makes a difference) - it is just that he did not maek and place - literally moved it an inch with his club. No advantage, just lazy maybe. Would you all it
 
If he was definitely in the rough surely he wouldn't get to pick and place. Was it distinct rough as sometimes the definition between where the fairway ends and the semi starts is difficult to distinguish in winter at my place. To be honest if it was proper rough, it is clearly against the rules and so he should be penalised. That said, if the game is relaxed, you're cruising to a win and everything is tickety boo I'd maybe suggest to him you don't think he's allowed to do it and say you'd have to penalise him next time and why and let it go.
 
Exactly - on a nice fairway bone dry (dryest on the course - although not that this makes a difference) - it is just that he did not maek and place - literally moved it an inch with his club. No advantage, just lazy maybe. Would you all it

Nah. I'd mention it to him though.
 
Exactly - on a nice fairway bone dry (dryest on the course - although not that this makes a difference) - it is just that he did not maek and place - literally moved it an inch with his club. No advantage, just lazy maybe. Would you all it

Well no I wouldn't give a toss, the games slow enough as it is lets not start marking balls to move them an inch in the middle of winter while winter rules are in play.
 
Exactly - on a nice fairway bone dry (dryest on the course - although not that this makes a difference) - it is just that he did not maek and place - literally moved it an inch with his club. No advantage, just lazy maybe. Would you all it

In that case....no...would leave it. Might call it in a medal though.
 
Nah. I'd mention it to him though.

Yep, I'd do the same. In this case he just rolled the ball an inch so not a problem but next time he might have to lift it to clean off mud. Shouldn't do that without marking first.
 
If he was definitely in the rough surely he wouldn't get to pick and place. Was it distinct rough as sometimes the definition between where the fairway ends and the semi starts is difficult to distinguish in winter at my place. To be honest if it was proper rough, it is clearly against the rules and so he should be penalised. That said, if the game is relaxed, you're cruising to a win and everything is tickety boo I'd maybe suggest to him you don't think he's allowed to do it and say you'd have to penalise him next time and why and let it go.

No - this is pure A1 position on the middle of the fairway
 
In that case....no...would leave it. Might call it in a medal though.

Exactly what my partner said. He knows all the rules and after being angry at being called realised that he was in the wrong albeit it was against the spirit of the game and he would have never done it in a medal - tricky situation especially in a quarter final. I would have never called it but he was within his rights to do so
 
Specimen Local Rule:

“A ball lying on a closely mown area through the green (or specify a more restricted area, e.g., at the 6th hole) may be lifted, without penalty, and cleaned. Before lifting the ball, the player must mark its position. Having lifted the ball, he must place it on a spot within (specify area, e.g., six inches, one club-length, etc.) of and not nearer the hole than where it originally lay, that is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.

A player may place his ball only once, and it is in play when it has been placed (Rule 20-4). If the ball fails to come to rest on the spot on which it is placed, Rule 20-3d applies. If the ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other Rule apply.

If the player fails to mark the position of the ball before lifting it or moves the ball in any other manner, such as rolling it with a club, he incurs a penalty of one stroke.

Note: “Closely mown area” means any area of the course, including paths through the rough, cut to fairway height or less.
 
Our local 'winter rules' are very clear. They state that if your on the fairway you can mark your ball, lift clean and place on your mat ( we hit of mats in Winter from the fairway) or, you can place in the nearest point of rough, no nearer the hole. If we are in the rough, we can mark the ball, lift clean and drop within 6 inches, no nearer the hole.

Therefore, in a quarter final knockout, i'd have said something.
 
we did - just - on the first play off hole!:D Trick situation on 15 as they were technically right and it cost us a win on the hole - but was against the spirit of the match. A tough dilemma - I wouldn't have called it but can't argue against those that would
 
Top