When is dropped ball from water hazard in play?

upsidedown

Tour Winner
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
6,048
Location
Shropshire
Visit site
Playing first round of handicap knockout this afternoon and my opponent sliced his second shot towards far end of water hazard and we both saw the splash .
Agreed spot where ball had entered hazard and he dropped a ball. Whilst waiting for the green to clear he went forward to see if he could retrieve his ball and found it on the far bank ( must have skipped out of water )

He called across that he'd found it and that was a bit of luck and came back and picked up the dropped ball.

Was fairly certain he couldn't do that as dropped ball was now the one in play but as was 4 up after 6 didn't say anything.

On checking rules think I'm still right but would like it clarified.

Decisions on rules of golf 27-1/2 is the closest i could find.

Went on to win 4 and 2
 
You need to look at item d) in the Definition of a lost ball where you will find that a ball is lost if you have put another ball into play when you know or are virtually certain your ball is in a water hazard.

You are saying that both you and your opponent agreed that his ball was in the hazard, and he correctly proceeded with his drop. Even though he unexpectedly found his ball outside the water hazard he could not go back on that: he is committed to playing the dropped ball under the 1 stroke penalty. See Decision 26-1/3.5
http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-26/#d26-1-1.3
 
Was it known or virtually certain that the ball was in the hazard? A splash alone is not enough to determine it is lost in the hazard. See 26-1/1.

If it was known or virtually certain then proceed with dropped ball under penalty of 1 stroke. 26-1/3.5

If it was not known or virtually certain then abandon dropped ball and continue with original ball. If he had played the dropped ball then this opens another can of worms entirely because he wouldn't be entitled to relief under 26-1 in this situation and instead should proceed under 27-1. 26-1/3.7


Edit: Colin was in there before me.doh.
 
Last edited:
I am a little confused here.

If there was not knowledge or virtual certainty that the ball was lost in the hazard, would he be able to take a drop?

He could not take a drop under rule 26. The ball could not be found then it would be lost and he would have to take stroke and distance. If he took a drop anyway it would have been an unauthorized substitution. See R 15-2. It became the ball in play when it hit the ground but the player should correct his mistake. R 20-6. If he did not correct and continued play with the improperly substituted ball it remains the ball in play and he should complete the hole with it, adding two penalty strokes to his score for playing from a wrong place. The improper substitution penalty would not count in that case. If the wrong place constituted a serious breach that was not corrected before teeing of on the next hole he would be disqualifie. R 20-7.
 
Last edited:
I am a little confused here.

If there was not knowledge or virtual certainty that the ball was lost in the hazard, would he be able to take a drop?

Atticus has given you a full explanation. The short answer to your question is no, and the reason I answered the OP as I did was that it was clear that they did have virtual certainty.
 
Atticus has given you a full explanation. The short answer to your question is no, and the reason I answered the OP as I did was that it was clear that they did have virtual certainty.

Sorry Colin, having re-read your original post you did make that clear - seems I need at least 2 coffee's in a morning!
 
Top