When is advice not advice?

mefromhere

Assistant Pro
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
111
Visit site
Just a situation that nearly came up today that none of us were sure on ...

At the club competitions are held over 2 days and you can play on either day. Some of our group played in the comp yesterday and one was playing it today. If I (played yesterday) were to give advice to the player playing today would there be any penalty?

And the same if he was to ask for advice today?
 
Just a situation that nearly came up today that none of us were sure on ...

At the club competitions are held over 2 days and you can play on either day. Some of our group played in the comp yesterday and one was playing it today. If I (played yesterday) were to give advice to the player playing today would there be any penalty?

And the same if he was to ask for advice today?
Depends what he asks you it can get very complicated as I am sure you are about to find out. A comp over 2 days just sounds wrong.
 
I thought the issue was "during the game" not afterward or before?

ADVICE
During the stipulated round, don’t ask for advice from anyone except from your partner (i.e. a player on your side) or your caddie. Also, don’t give advice to anyone except your partner (Rule 8-1).
Advice is any counsel or suggestion that could influence a player in determining his play, the choice of club or the method of making a stroke. For example, seeking guidance from a fellow-competitor as to the type of shot to play or the most suitable club to use for the next stroke is not permissible.
 
[h=2]8-1/19[/h][h=4]Advice Between Rounds in 36-Hole Match[/h]Q.May a player seek advice, other than from his partner or caddie, after 18 holes in a 36-hole match?
A.Yes. Rule 8-1 applies only during a stipulated round. A 36-hole match consists of two 18-hole stipulated rounds – see Definition of "Stipulated Round."
 
Without disagreeing with the advice being given on advice, I notice that the OP is asking about an 18 hole competition that is held on 2 different days, players having the choice as to which day they play on - known as an Alternative Day Competition.

It comes to the same thing. The player who has played on Day 1 can give advice to the player going out on Day 2 before he starts his stipulated round for the same reasons as given above.
 
Colin is right. Alternative day.

If, say on the 5th hole of the round yesterday (I had played the day before) I was to tell the player competing that the putt breaks left to right, would there be any penalty for either of us? I would assume the penalty would be for me but as my round was finished what could they do?
 
If the player did nothing to prevent you from doing something similar again, he would be get a 2sp. Dec 8-1/24.
 
Colin is right. Alternative day.

If, say on the 5th hole of the round yesterday (I had played the day before) I was to tell the player competing that the putt breaks left to right, would there be any penalty for either of us? I would assume the penalty would be for me but as my round was finished what could they do?
It depends on your status in his round. See decisions 8-1/18 and following.
 
Colin is right. Alternative day.

If, say on the 5th hole of the round yesterday (I had played the day before) I was to tell the player competing that the putt breaks left to right, would there be any penalty for either of us? I would assume the penalty would be for me but as my round was finished what could they do?

Assuming your status is just that of a spectator - not a player and not his caddie - there can be no penalty for offering gratuitous advice. But you do put him in the awkward position rulefan refers to of having to tell you to stop.
 
Can that 'gratuitous advice' be extended to shouts of 'Get in the hole', 'Mashed Potato' and all the rest -- Please? :whistle:
 
Thought of that, but sadly "get in the hole" is advice addressed to the ball and is not covered in the rule book. ;)

"Mashed potato" is presumably self-analysis of the spectator's own brain and doesn't come under the heading of advice.
 
Following on from this thread is advice telling an opponent that they can't do something? I And what if their "advice" was wrong?

Let me explain. Playing our Summer pairs ko my partner & I played our second shots to the green. My shot landed to the left of the green behind a hillock. From that position I couldn't see the bottom of the hole. I walked to the top of the hump to see where the hole was in relation to my ball and placed my cap there for a moment to see my line of play. I had no intention of leaving it there when I played my shot. (rule 8-2a). One of the opponents immediately told me that what I was doing we not allowed. His mate also shouted across and so I picked my hat up again. I subsequently found that they were wrong.

At the time we were 1 up coming up the 18th and we lost the hole. The we lost the match on the 1st. So my question is was I given advice contrary to Rule 8-1? The advice was wrong so in equity could my partner & I claim the hole and so the match?

Honest advice would be appreciated.
 
I want to know what constitutes advice. Is informing an opponent that he is not allowed to do something construed as advice?

If it is not advice then what if the "advice" or information given is wrong?
 
Last edited:
Information on the rules is not advice.
Giving wrong information on the rules is not a breach. It is the player's responsibility to know the rules.
 
Ok don't bother lads I've just read 2-5/10. My fault for not knowing definitely that I could mark my line of play temporarily.

My only recourse would be if I could prove the information given was given knowing it was incorrect.
 
Information on the Rules is not advice whether it is right or wrong. It is your responsibility to know the Rules (Rule 6-1). Had you known what you were doing was ok, you could have carried on getting your line, picked up your cap and played, leaving your opponents to make a claim if they thought you had breached the Rules.
 
If the player did nothing to prevent you from doing something similar again, he would be get a 2sp. Dec 8-1/24.

That does not apply at all unless during the round. I think the OP is talking about given advise prior to the 2nd days round starting.

Nothing to stop someone, for example, going out the first day and compiling a pin sheet on their way round then handing it to a friend playing the following day.
 
Ok don't bother lads I've just read 2-5/10. My fault for not knowing definitely that I could mark my line of play temporarily.

My only recourse would be if I could prove the information given was given knowing it was incorrect.

Don't think so. I think what the others are intending to convey is that information about rules is not advice - and you were being given incorrect information about rules. Because rules are not advice, you were not being given "incorrect advice" - just a load of cr*p about rules - and therefore wouldn't have a claim.
 
Decision 2-5/10 covers my query. Thanks for the replies.

In the heat of the moment and one up on the last hole I didn't want to fall foul of someone who I thought knew the Rules better than I did. He was a seasoned competitor. It's not as though I could play two balls and let the Committee decide as in Rule 3-3.

Thanks again. I really appreciate this forum.
 
Top