What's the ruling here??

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 1740
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 1740

Guest
I played today with 2 mates and on the 14th hole we were all on the fairway, my mate Dave who was furthest away hit his 2nd shot towards the green, it pitched short of the green and rolled past a seagull. The seagull then picked his ball up and tried to fly away but dropped it. This happened 6 times then the seagull dropped his ball in the water.

What should he have done to finish the hole?

It was hilarious watching the bird try to fly away with his ball but it kept dropping it.
 
Replace the ball where it lay before the bird picked it up, as near as possible.

First reaction guess, man I need a rules refresh if I am off with this one!
 
Last edited:
Had the ball come to rest when the seagull picked it up?

If at rest then replace ball with no penalty. If still in motion then tough luck!

Rules 18 & 19.
 
Thanks for the replies gents.

On a sidenote what would happen if the bird would've dropped the ball in the hole?
 
Thanks for the replies gents.

On a sidenote what would happen if the bird would've dropped the ball in the hole?

replaced as before, otherwise we'll all be training birds to drop balls in the hole. We'd all be off plus 5 in a season:rofl:
 
Come on guys, let's get this one right!

If the ball was at rest when the bird picked it up and eventually dropped it in the pond it should, as said, be replaced.

The bird is an animate outside agency and so if the ball was in motion when the bird started playing games with it, it should be dropped as near as possible to where it was came to rest in or on the bird (or placed if on the green) i.e. where the seagull first picked it up at which point the ball would have been at rest relative to the bird. Rule 19-1a. An animal picking up a ball is different from a ball being deflected by an animal.

In either instance, you can substitute another ball if the first one is irretrievable.
 
Last edited:
Come on guys, let's get this one right!

If the ball was at rest when the bird picked it up and eventually dropped it in the pond it should, as said, be replaced.

The bird is an animate outside agency and so if the ball was in motion when the bird started playing games with it, it should be dropped as near as possible to where it was came to rest in or on the bird (or placed if on the green) i.e. where the seagull first picked it up at which point the ball would have been at rest relative to the bird. Rule 19-1a. An animal picking up a ball is different from a ball being deflected by an animal.

In either instance, you can substitute another ball if the first one is irretrievable.

Thank you Colin. I was starting to despair as I read ...
 
This might help

Decision 19-1/6 Ball Picked Up or Deflected by Dog on Putting Green After Stroke from Off Green

Q. A ball played from off the green was about a foot from the hole and still in motion when it was moved by a dog to a spot about ten feet from the hole. The ball was either deflected by the dog or the dog picked it up, ran with it and dropped it. What is the ruling?

A. If the ball was deflected, it would be played as it lay, without penalty, from the spot to which it was moved by the dog (Rule 19-1).

If the dog picked up the ball, the player should have placed the ball, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where the original ball was when the dog picked it up (Rule 19-1a).

What you really need it would seem is a bird trained to "dribble" the ball into the hole before it comes to rest by nudging it along with its beak. I reckon it could be done!
 
Top