What's the rule?

DAVEYBOY

Blackballed
Banned
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
3,506
Location
Birmingham
Visit site
This is the 5TH hole on the Derby... A 400 yard par 4.

The yellow line shows the intended line off the tee and the blue line shows what happens when it all goes wrong. Anything over the red staked ditch and hedge is normally lost in the crap the other side. So what's the rule? Can you drop back on the left side of the bush where the ball last crossed or do you have to find and play it from the other side or blob the hole if the ball is lost? Me and my laying partner have always blobbed the hole if its lost but now I'm u sure of if we have to?
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    87.5 KB · Views: 131
If it's lost then you play again from where you made your last stroke, unless it's lost in the hazard. Why would you blob the hole when you could still make a bogey?
 
If it's lost then you play again from where you made your last stroke, unless it's lost in the hazard. Why would you blob the hole when you could still make a bogey?

In a comp I would go back to the tee but in a nothing round I wouldn't be bothered.
 
Water%20Hazard.ashx


in your case points D and E will be out so you're left with going back to the tee (A) or a drop within 2 clubs from where it entered the hazard (C)
 
Is the hazard just the ditch, or is all the area behind it marked as part of the hazard too?

If its not marked as hazard then unless you can find the ball you have to go back to where you were under stroke and distance penalty.

If the whole area is part of the hazard (I expect it isnt) then you take relief as you would based on the stakes colour and the point where the ball entered the hazard (assuming you are almost certain the ball is in the hazard)
 
Is the hazard just the ditch, or is all the area behind it marked as part of the hazard too?

If its not marked as hazard then unless you can find the ball you have to go back to where you were under stroke and distance penalty.

If the whole area is part of the hazard (I expect it isnt) then you take relief as you would based on the stakes colour and the point where the ball entered the hazard (assuming you are almost certain the ball is in the hazard)

The red stakes are on the left side only... Would that mean that anything after that is classed as the hazard?
 
The red stakes are on the left side only... Would that mean that anything after that is classed as the hazard?

It would seem to imply as much, though Im not convinced thats what it should mean. I would probably ask for clarification at the club as to whether the ground behind the hedge is part of the hazard as makes quite a big difference as to your options
 
It would seem to imply as much, though Im not convinced thats what it should mean. I would probably ask for clarification at the club as to whether the ground behind the hedge is part of the hazard as makes quite a big difference as to your options

Yes I will ask as it could save vital shots in the future :thup:
 
What lis the "crap" on the other side? If it is not an open water course it is probably not part of the lateral water hazard. It is likely only the ditch is the lateral water hazard.

So if your ball is in the crap and you cannot find it, you must return to the tee and take stroke and distance.
 
What lis the "crap" on the other side? If it is not an open water course it is probably not part of the lateral water hazard. It is likely only the ditch is the lateral water hazard.

So if your ball is in the crap and you cannot find it, you must return to the tee and take stroke and distance.

On the other side is the 3rd fairway and deep rough and bushes. Very unlikely to find a ball in the summer.
 
So how is it marked from that fairway. If it's all part of the hazard then it should be marked from that fairway too.

It's not marked but there is no ditch on that side.

I'm going to assume that its only the ditch that the red stakes apply to on the hole in question.
 
It's not marked but there is no ditch on that side.

I'm going to assume that its only the ditch that the red stakes apply to on the hole in question.

Exactly, so if no stakes on the far side of the area then it's probably only a single ditch ... in which case your course manager needs to sort it out, and a ball landing there is simply a lost ball if you can't find it.
 
Exactly, so if no stakes on the far side of the area then it's probably only a single ditch ... in which case your course manager needs to sort it out, and a ball landing there is simply a lost ball if you can't find it.

So should there be red stakes on both sides of the ditch? That would be a problem as the hedge lines the ditch.
 
Top