Whats the options here?

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
1,655
Location
Glasgow
Visit site
On side of the green so would normally be putting this but because im off green i am gathering i get no relief and have to chip over?

 
Looks like they're getting ready to plant some sweet peas or pansies!

Agree about moving it though but would like to think the noticeboard made mention of this before heading out in case the want you to treat it as GUR
 
Didn't even think about moving the fence thanks. was only a knock myself so just dropped a few feet to the left

unless it was actually hindering your stance or line of swing etc then there is no free relief.
 
You don't get relief but you can remove the fence in the same way that you might move a red or yellow (but not white!) stake. Don't forget to replace it afterwards though.
 
Agree about moving it though but would like to think the noticeboard made mention of this before heading out in case the want you to treat it as GUR

No sure what this means - I'm sure it is an area of GUR, but there wouldn't be any more relief options in this instance as its a line of play off the green issue.
 
No sure what this means - I'm sure it is an area of GUR, but there wouldn't be any more relief options in this instance as its a line of play off the green issue.

Apologies I wasn't really referring to relief options but I guess i didn't make that clear, sorry

You might be sure its an area of GUR but without something else to identify it as such, like a sign-post or spray writing or a notice on the noticeboard, I cant really assume its GUR, so if my ball landed in there instead of short I'd like to think the club had provided some direction on how to proceed
 
Apologies I wasn't really referring to relief options but I guess i didn't make that clear, sorry

You might be sure its an area of GUR but without something else to identify it as such, like a sign-post or spray writing or a notice on the noticeboard, I cant really assume its GUR, so if my ball landed in there instead of short I'd like to think the club had provided some direction on how to proceed

Agreed.

However, the approved practice of white lines or coloured stakes can often get combined into the use of white wire hoops like these as a general GUR marking by green staff ie they are seen as a suitable moveable while line - all without further clarification anywhere.

Committees should do better, but the player would be entitled to treat such an area as GUR even in the absence of any further clarification.
 
Agreed.

However, the approved practice of white lines or coloured stakes can often get combined into the use of white wire hoops like these as a general GUR marking by green staff ie they are seen as a suitable moveable while line - all without further clarification anywhere.

Committees should do better, but the player would be entitled to treat such an area as GUR even in the absence of any further clarification.

Didn't know that part... Every day's a school day :)
 
On side of the green so would normally be putting this but because im off green i am gathering i get no relief and have to chip over?

This is a very common way of indicating GUR although it should also indicate whether relief is optional or compulsory. If the ground is newly sown or otherwise vulnerable, I would take normal relief outside the area if it is optional, unless it puts me at a serious disadvantage.

The hoops are movable obstructions unless there is a local rule saying they are immovable (unlikely).

Incidentally, you can putt through GUR on the green if you wish, unless the area is designated 'play prohibited' and your ball is in the GUR.
 
Didn't know that part... Every day's a school day :)

The battle between green staff practice (using whatever they have lying around) and committees, trying to ensure clarity and compliance (with either rules or recommended practice - section 4 of the R&A running a competition guidlines) is an on going one in many places.

Don't think it helps overall that white lines are still referenced to GUR, with non white stakes recommended to avoid confusion with OOB, when increasingly both blue lines and blue stakes are adopted for GUR in practice.
 
Subsidiary question ...

OP could move the wire hoops because they are obstructions and (as I'm sure we all know, because we'll have done it at some time) they are easily moved. Could the committee declare them to be immovable obstructions? Reason in my mind would be because some players are not as fastidious at putting them back as they are at taking them out.

Second subsidiary question. A committee can make a local rule prohibiting play from GUR. Can they make one prohibiting one through GUR ?
 
Subsidiary question ...

OP could move the wire hoops because they are obstructions and (as I'm sure we all know, because we'll have done it at some time) they are easily moved. Could the committee declare them to be immovable obstructions? Reason in my mind would be because some players are not as fastidious at putting them back as they are at taking them out.

Second subsidiary question. A committee can make a local rule prohibiting play from GUR. Can they make one prohibiting one through GUR ?



Yes.
From the Definition of Obstructions:
Note: The Committee may make a Local Rule declaring a movable obstruction to be an immovable obstruction.

No. There is no rule that allows you to determine the direction in which a player must or must not play.
 
Yes.
From the Definition of Obstructions:
Note: The Committee may make a Local Rule declaring a movable obstruction to be an immovable obstruction.

No. There is no rule that allows you to determine the direction in which a player must or must not play.

Ta on both points.

TBH, despite my second question, l don't really have a good reason why l thought prohibiting play through GUR might have any merit. :)
 
You can move the posts to play past them but not from the area.

Do you mean that if you take GUR relief you cannot move the posts (ie they are immovable obstructions) but if you don't need to take relief (ie your ball is outside the GUR) then they are movable obstructions?
or
The posts are movable obstructions and play is simply prohibited from the GUR area.
 
Top