What clubs do I need on a par 3 course with 9 holes.

Enrico

Visit site
My biggest hit with a driver is 180 yards.

I am a beginner.

Ive attached the photos of the course overview if that helps.

Thank you in advance everyone

Attachments

• IMG_4659.jpeg
    IMG_4659.jpeg
    114.6 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_4661.jpeg
    IMG_4661.jpeg
    113.2 KB · Views: 25

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Do not bother with the driver. Yellows ? Assume you will miss the longest green (and others) with whatever you take so the emphasis is on what short clubs you take - as a beginner do not bother with a 60 degree wedge and learn to hit something less lofted say 52/54 around the greens (the overhead shows no bunkers).
If you have a rescue/hybrid around 20deg take that and then a half set of irons either all the evens or all the odds having a 2 club difference takes out the indecision eg a hole is either a 7 or 9.

Hobbit

Mordorator
Visit site
Hi Enrico, Welcome to the forum.

Looking at the first few holes you have an ideal opportunity to find out your yardages. Hit what you think is the right club for the first hole, 162 off the yellows. If you’re pin high, take 2 clubs less on the second hole. If you’re hitting a driver 180, a reasonable guide would be 8yds between clubs.

It’ll take you a few rounds to work it out, and as a beginner you’ll probably find that your yardages for each club will increase with practice.

Good luck.

Budds

Banned
Visit site
First question should be what clubs do you have available. Next one...what is the longest iron you hit consistently and well. And, if you know, how far do you hit that club.

Last edited:

PJ87

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Whenever I play our par 3 course I drop the driver , 6 iron , 3 and 4 hyrbid

I keep the rest.. carry the 5 hybrid just incase of wind on the longest hole

Doesn't hurt carrying more than needed the first time until your used to it

Jimaroid

Journeyman Pro
Visit site