Wedges advice

TPO77

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi all,

I've recently upgraded my clubs and currently have my PW 43º, GW 49º and SW 55º. I'm looking at adding another to that as a lob wedge. My PW, as you can see is, quite strong lofted but I'm happy with the range that the 3 give me. I'm thinking I should go for either a 58º or 60º wedge for my lob wedge. Anyone able to recommend either way?

Also can anyone recommend a model of wedge that might suit me. I'm fairly new to the game and an unofficial high handicap. My clubs atm are mainly Wilson Staff so a matching wedge would be nice but I'm happy to listen to other suggestions.

palindromicbob

Tour Winner
Visit site
Bob will be along in a minute to tell you that you don't need 3 wedges ;)

This months mag has a good wedge section that could be worth a look.

I'd say go for the 60* but the loft can be a bit much to handle if you aren't comfortable with wedge play. I think 58* would be too small a gap from the 55* though. Personally I've had Nike, and Cleveland wedges but opted for the MD as they offered excellent quality for the money. Have also tried Vokey's and thought they were great but couldn't justify the additional cost.

kev_off_the_tee

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Im in the 3 wedge club. I have my Nike VR split cavity PW, plus a 52 and a 60 deg Ram tour grind wedges. I have a 56deg wilson TW9 which doesnt make it to the course as I think there is no need for it.

I will be looking for a Nike 50&56 combination to go with my irons but still think that more than 2 wedges other than your PW is overkill

TPO77

Club Champion
Visit site