Was i Right ??

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
9,146
Location
Emerald Isle
Visit site
If i was could someone point me to where it actually says it in the book please ,


Got dragged into a rule question last night and gave what i think to be the correct answer..

Guys ball is close to a tree , his back swing is hindered by a branch of the tree , this branch has leaves on it ..

on a practice swing he hits the branch & knocks some leaves , is he penalised ..?

My answer was if the leaves were on his swing plane or somehow improved his chances of a swing its a penalty , however if the leaves are down the far end of the branch and in no way effects or changes the swing then no its not a penalty ,,

Not Sure so i said id ask

Thanks in advance
 
This is rule 13-2 and if the practice swing or swing improves the swing path then yes it is a 2 stroke penalty in strokeplay and loss of hole in matchplay.

I am sure Tiger lost a hole in the WGC when he lost to Clarke for the same thing once you have broken the branch you have to keep going with the swing or its loss of hole
 
Yea, If a leaf falls off but the branch is still hindering you then its no penalty, if it was the only thing preventing you from swinging fully at it then penalty it is.
It used to be a big misconception that as soon as a leaf broke off you would get the old guys screaming foul at an old course I used to be a member of.
 
Yea, If a leaf falls off but the branch is still hindering you then its no penalty, if it was the only thing preventing you from swinging fully at it then penalty it is.
It used to be a big misconception that as soon as a leaf broke off you would get the old guys screaming foul at an old course I used to be a member of.

well put :thup:
 
Thanks for all the answers guys , i thought i had it right , can someone refer me to where that may be in writing ?

Many thanks again for all the replys
 
Top