unplayble in a bunker

williamalex1

Money List Winner
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
13,719
Location
uddingston
Visit site
Hi guys. My drive landed in a bunker up against the face, so I declared it unplayable and dropped it outside the bunker 2 club length back towards the tee and added a penalty stroke.

Was this within the rules .
 
Hi guys. My drive landed in a bunker up against the face, so I declared it unplayable and dropped it outside the bunker 2 club length back towards the tee and added a penalty stroke.

Was this within the rules .

No.


The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.
If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:
a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or
b. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped; or
c. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.
If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ball must be dropped in the bunker.

You either drop under penalty in the bunker or play from previous location (under penalty).
 
No.


The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.
If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:
a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or
b. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped; or
c. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.
If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ball must be dropped in the bunker.

You either drop under penalty in the bunker or play from previous location (under penalty).


:whoo: :whoo:
 
not to mention the multi format matchplay and medal round going on......... :QUOTE. No one in my game knew I had broken any rule. But today after rethinking the round I had some doubt about the drop , so asked the question on the forum rules section today,and it was confirmed I was wrong and deserve to be hung drawn and quartered. or as Patrick would say 3quarters. So I disqualified my self and handed myself in.
When I took the wrong drop I was picturing the time when Rory putted into a bunker then declared it unplayable. He then replayed from on the green where he had played his previous shot adding 1 penalty.
Please take into account my age, senility, stupidity, my sore back, my great grand child and all the crap I'm about to receive and my honesty.
Before putting on your black caps and punishing me , There's also mitigating circumstances, ElBandito had left no sand in the bunker taking about 8 shovelfuls out of it.
MLORD please have mercy on my sole [spikeless]
 
No.


The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.
If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:
a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or
b. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped; or
c. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.
If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ball must be dropped in the bunker.

You either drop under penalty in the bunker or play from previous location (under penalty).

I'm a bit surprised at this, Rosecott. You quote the rule, including option (b) but then exclude that option from your final summary.
 
We were given royal permission, as long as we putted out.:thup:

And that's one of the reasons why it's impossible to do both at once.

In one case (Strokeplay), it's a DQ offence (possibly). In the other, it's you out of the hole at worst - or no effective penalty at all!
 
I'm a bit surprised at this, Rosecott. You quote the rule, including option (b) but then exclude that option from your final summary.


Did I?

Surely both options (b) and (c) are covered by the phrase "drop under penalty in the bunker" or have I been tired and emotional again.
 
Top