Unplayable ball

davemc1

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
2,877
Location
Liverpool
Visit site
I've just watched a gm vid on Twitter on this and it says you can call an unplayable anywhere except in a water hazard.

I was under the impression you couldn't take one from the bunker as well?

Say if you where up against the back edge of said bunker and could only hack out at best side wards or even backwards, surely it'd be easier taking the drop, two club lengths. 1 stroke penalty.

Seems a bit of a cop out but is it within the rules?
 
You can call a ball unplayable in a bunker but you don't have the same options for relief you can't use the 2 club lengths.
You can return to previous spot and play again though as in lost ball scenario.
 
I've just watched a gm vid on Twitter on this and it says you can call an unplayable anywhere except in a water hazard.

I was under the impression you couldn't take one from the bunker as well?

Say if you where up against the back edge of said bunker and could only hack out at best side wards or even backwards, surely it'd be easier taking the drop, two club lengths. 1 stroke penalty.

Seems a bit of a cop out but is it within the rules?

Contrary to the other response I can confirm that you do have all 3 options available to you in a bunker. However, if proceeding under line of sight or 2 club lengths, the ball must be dropped back in the bunker.
 
You can call a ball unplayable in a bunker but you don't have the same options for relief you can't use the 2 club lengths.
You can return to previous spot and play again though as in lost ball scenario.

A quick I'll thought out reply based on scenario given in OP. Apoligies if mis-lead.
Assumed you would be nearer the hole if dropping in the bunker. Thanks DM for correcting.
 
A quick I'll thought out reply based on scenario given in OP. Apoligies if mis-lead.
Assumed you would be nearer the hole if dropping in the bunker. Thanks DM for correcting.

As you say, by having to drop nearer the hole if that was the only option to drop in the bunker you would effectively rule out those options.
But if not they are there to be used☺
 
Contrary to the other response I can confirm that you do have all 3 options available to you in a bunker. However, if proceeding under line of sight or 2 club lengths, the ball must be dropped back in the bunker.

It'd have to be a very unfortunate position in a bunker to warrant taking a drop. Although, I would have beneffited from doing so a couple of weeks ago, bunker to side of green, ball at the back (if you look from the fairway, side if you from in or behind the bunker) ball approx 18 inches below my feet.....oh dear.....I missed the ball completely with my first shot and didn't get it out with my second!
 
Top