Tyre Tracks

DJ1979

Newbie
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
1
Visit site
Hi

Can anyone clarify for me what the ruling is if your ball lands in or your stance is impacted by tyre tracks?

There is a local rule in place at my club at the moment as there is significant work going on but I was having a debate with my playing partners at the weekend about the general ruling.

Is there a clear difference between tracks that are very shallow indentations caused by a buggy for example, and deep ruts caused by a heavy piece of machinery?

Thanks
Dan
 
I would think that if the tracks are "through the green" rather than in the rough it would/should be GUR.
 
Decision 25/16

Rut Made by Tractor

Q.Is a rut made by a tractor considered a hole made by a greenkeeper and thus ground under repair? If not, should the Committee declare such a rut to be ground under repair?

A.Such a rut is not a hole made by a greenkeeper. The Committee would be justified in declaring a deep rut to be ground under repair, but not a shallow indentation made by greenkeeping equipment.

If there is heavy machinery involved, the committee should be on the job in ensuring that adequate LRs are in place to deal with the matter.
 
Last edited:
Top