Two simple rules questions...

Kellfire

Blackballed
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
7,580
Location
Leeds
Visit site
Hi, I think I know both of these but would like some guidance as to the exact rule that dictates the way forward...


1. Ball lies directly between two OOB posts (aka "on the line") with a tiny portion of the ball lying in bounds (though not touching the ground within the line... Is the ball in bounds or not?

2. Ball lies against a rake in a bunker. When removing the rake the ball moves. Is there any penalty?

Thanks in advance for any guidance. :)
 
1) The margin of the OOB extends vertically upwards. So if the ball slightly overlaps that vertical plane it is still in bounds. (ie all of it does not lie out of bounds).

2) The rake is a movable obstruction. If the ball moves when moving the rake, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.
 
You have to remember that it's the nearest inside edge of the posts at ground level that starts the OB . If it's a line on the ground, the line itself is OB.
 
2) The rake is a movable obstruction. If the ball moves when moving the rake, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

For this reason, if your ball is ever against a rake or other loose impediment it is best to mark it before moving the impediment so it can be replaced accurately, other wise you do not know the exact position of the ball, unless there is an imprint and there may need to drop it.
 
For this reason, if your ball is ever against a rake or other loose impediment it is best to mark it before moving the impediment so it can be replaced accurately, other wise you do not know the exact position of the ball, unless there is an imprint and there may need to drop it.

A rake is a Movable Obstruction not a Loose Impediment. The are treated differently.

If you move or touch the ball when moving a Loose Impediment there is a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be replaced.
 
Top