TV Cables in a penalty area

Thread starter #1

Canfordhacker

Q-School Graduate
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
983
Location
Dorset
Yesterday on the 5th hole in the Ryder Cup, Patrick Cantlay's ball ran into the penalty area, and was held up and stopped from going into the water by a cable that it came to rest on. It looked unplayable with the cable in the way, and Rich Beem indicated he would get a free drop. It wasn't clear from the coverage whether he did or not. But surely, even though you can move loose impediments in a penalty area, if your ball will move you would be penalised if you did that. Can't see why you would get relief in a Penalty area.

What should the ruling have been - and does anybody know what happened?
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,218
Location
Edinburgh
A cable is an obstruction, not a loose impediment. If movable, you can take relief if your ball is in a penalty area by moving it. If you move your ball in the process, you replace it without penalty. If the cable can't be moved it is an immovable obstruction and normally you would not get relief from interference by it in a penalty area. There is a local rule, however (MLR-F22), which if in place allows free relief from a temporary cable in a penalty area by dropping a ball in the PA
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
138
Location
Inverurie Aberdeenshire
It’s the same feed to US and Sky - Americans get many more ad breaks
I sometimes watch Indy car races and at least there is uninterrupted coverage but no commentary during US ad breaks
lots of American ad breaks in golf have continuing coverage on Sky
 

salfordlad

Active member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
152
It’s the same feed to US and Sky - Americans get many more ad breaks
I sometimes watch Indy car races and at least there is uninterrupted coverage but no commentary during US ad breaks
lots of American ad breaks in golf have continuing coverage on Sky
That's a good deal, the Americans are paying/subsidising for your golf coverage!
 
Top