Training Aid on course

Dellboy

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
989
Location
Wilton, Nr Salisbury
Visit site
Hi,
could someone please tell me if I broke the rules today.
In my bag I sometimes have my V-easy, use it on the putting green most weekends, so today while waiting on the 12th tee the chap I was playing with started to ask me about it.

As we had a good wait I got it out and told him how it works, I didn't hit any balls but just told him how I use it for putting and chipping.

After the game another couple came over to me and asked how many penalty strokes I added to my score and if not I should be Disqualified.

I didn't add any as I did the think I had broken any rules, but now not sure, so did I ??
 
The relevant rule states - "Except as provided in the Rules, during a stipulated round the player must not use any artificial device or unusual equipment, or use any equipment in an abnormal manner:..."

In this context the question becomes whether you used the training aid.

This isn't about using it to make a stoke, it's using it. Explaining how it works isn't a problem, demonstrating it, even without a ball, probably is.

I say probably because the nature of it is so specific and has parallels with other aids and specific rulings (decisions) but there isn't one for the very easy!
 
This happened on the PGA Tour some time back.
Someone used a putting aid while waiting on a tee and got dq'd for it.
All comes down to whether you actually demonstrated it - if you did, then you're probably in trouble....
 
Like I said I didn't use it to hit anything, but I did tuck in under my arms and told him how it works.

I did also have a club in my hands at the time and told him how you hold the club while using, so looks like then I did break the rules.

Will call the club tomorrow and let them know, dam shame as I did end up shooting 2 under my HC.

O well my own fault and I won't be doing that again!!
 
If you really want to fire it to the committee and see were they stand with regard to possible exception as follows.

(c) the Committee is satisfied that its use does not give the player any undue advantage over other players.
 
If you really want to fire it to the committee and see were they stand with regard to possible exception as follows.

(c) the Committee is satisfied that its use does not give the player any undue advantage over other players.
Note the word "and" at the end of (b) which indicates that (c) does not stand by itself - it is contingent on (a) and (b).
 
I'm going to argue that i think you're ok.

The rule is that a player must not use unusual equipment "that might assist him in making a stroke or in his play". I'd suggest that taking a v-easy out of your bag, and casually showing someone the basic principles of how it works does not constitute using unusual equipment which might assist in making a stroke etc. I think you'd need to set yourself up & use it properly for it to be construed as "using" and for there to be a risk of it assisting in his play.
 
Holding the aid under your arms, holding a club in the V and swinging the club (even without hitting a ball) would suggest to me that you were reinforcing the stroke action, albeit unintentionally. Breach.
 
Holding the aid under your arms, holding a club in the V and swinging the club (even without hitting a ball) would suggest to me that you were reinforcing the stroke action, albeit unintentionally. Breach.

But was he doing it to assist in making a stroke? He said he was showing someone how it works.
 
But was he doing it to assist in making a stroke? He said he was showing someone how it works.

"that might assist him in making a stroke or in his play" - I think that is the key part here. It could have fine tuned a fault that assisted in his play next time he chipped/putted
 
But was he doing it to assist in making a stroke? He said he was showing someone how it works.

Intention isn't relevant here.

I think rulefan has summed it up well; I would also rule in the same vein ie up until you move the club with the aid in position you are OK, once you move the club the aid's function kicks in and you are 'using it'.

In the same way, taking a flexible shafted training aid out the bag and taking a stance with it wouldn't be using it - swing it even without a proper stance and you are.
 
An American lady golfer was DQ'd because she was cold during a round and while waiting, placed one of those lead rings around an iron and started swinging to keep her muscles warm. The lead ring was deemed to be a training aid.
Harsh or not?
 
Top