To fit or not to fit

Newforesthooker

Visit site
Hi, new to the forum so be gentle.
So basically I play with a draw naturally, always had standard set up clubs (5’11) I know height isn’t the only element we look at for lie angle.
But I got fit for my current irons, and since then I could not hit a fade to save myself, I play off 4 and have always been a decent enough iron player. Basically with my fitting I got a 2 degree upright lie angle (which since my mate a coach told me was a disaster for me 😂).
So what I’m saying is now I’m looking for a new set, I’ve lost confidence in the fitting process, do I go at it again or shall I go back to Ebay and research myself what I know I need and have used previously. Opinions are very very welcome

TreeSeeker

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I view a fitting session as an opportunity to try different combo's and see how the feel you get translates into numbers.

I'm new to the game and putting in alot of effort to improve my swing, so for me a custom fit one week would be different to another, but the right shaft or gapping should be far more consistent, depends what you're after of course. My money at the moment is being saved for a proper fit for this summer!

clubchamp98

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Can’t your own irons be bent to standard?

Lie angle if to upright will put the heel in the ground first.
So no surprise about the fade.
I would go back to the fitter and ask him to check his recommendations are correct for you.

Use a sharpie pen draw a vertical line on the ball right where you strike it.
The ink will transfer to the clubface and should be vertical up the grooves.
Hit it before the ink dries a few is all you need to see the strike.

Last edited:

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site