To Cock or NOT To Cock?

What would most tempt you into joining a club? (Tick up to 2 boxes)

• Lower annual cost

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • More welcoming response on first contact

• Option to pay a lower initial fee then green fees every round

• Off-peak or restricted time membership

• Greater help getting to know people

• Scope to play other local clubs at reduced prices

• Total voters

Topper70

www.golftrolleybags.org.uk
I'm relatively new to golf (I have hacked a few rounds during the late summer and throughout autumn), and so far am not too great at the game ... 7-8 shots on average per hole on relatively simple courses!

After a conversation with one of my friends regarding wrist cocking, I did a bit of reading and have become thoroughly confused. Some advise cocking at the start of your back-swing to get you in position, some advise to let it happen at the top of your back-swing, and others advocate no cocking of the wrists at all and to try to maintain them in the position they started off in through out (for a 3/4 strength swing).

I've tried each, and to be honest with my current level of skill, I have not really noticed a great deal of difference between each style in terms of how badly my shot ends up! Hopefully those of you with a higher level of consistency to your games can advise me on which you believe the best option to be? Or even if in fact if there is another one to add to the long list of things I tend to think about rather than striking the ball!

All advise gratefully received.

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
I have problems with using my wrists properly in the golf swing. I think it is essential to cock the wrists so would suggest you do so.
I have read a lot of articles (and sections of books) about it there is some difference in opinion as to "when" but in my non-expert opinion, I'd say not to get too hung up on when.