Thinking of buying new Irons a year in to the game.

JCC

Visit site
Hi All,

I started playing Golf last year. First few times almost put me off, shooting 130's for an 18 hole round, wasn't much fun. A friend gave me an old set of clubs and I carried on. Started getting in to it again 2 months ago and now shooting around 100. (96 and 98 being my best scores).

Birthday is around the corner and I'd like to play more golf and treat myself to a set of Irons. I've been doing tonnes of reading/Googling around sets of clubs for High Handicappers recently and not surprisingly gone round in circles and confused myself.

I'm pretty short at 5'8" with fairly short arms (although they are in sync with my body). I was reading a piece by Louis Oosthuizen who at 5'11" was saying about either getting custom made clubs or gripping down the shaft to make up for this.

Have any of you been in a similar situation and if so do you have any pointers for me with regards reading material/website links or even club recommendations? Is there an actual guide as to what the length of shaft is ideal for the height of a person?

Any recommendations for someone not wanting to spend the earth. Either a mid level price set of Irons or alternatively I'll check E-Bay out (if I can determine the 'real' from the 'fake').

Any help greatly appreciated. Have a good weekend. I'm off to play tomorrow.

Kind regards,
J

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Hi and welcome.... I am about the same height as you and you sound like I was when I started. I ended up buying stock clubs off the shelf, as was advised on here, you want to wait for a fitting until you have a repeatable swing. Was probably the right advice.

You're not going to be way off with stock clubs

Tiger man

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site