tears of laughter but what's the ruling.

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
21,703
Visit site
Played in a nine hole comp on Thursday and me playing partner was about 60 yd from the green in the deep rough. Me and another playing partner put our bags about 10 yd to his right of the green. He proceeds to leather his ball which shoots up 40 yard in the air towards us. We move to the right and our 4th playing partner screams "it's landed in your bag". The bottle carrier at the side of my of my bag has nowt acquired a ball. Us three are now bent over double laughing but guy who plays shot initially does not look happy coz he thinks he has a two shot penalty.

so what is the actual ruling please.
 
Was it a team comp ie 4BBB ?

If so then it's a 1 shot penalty if he hit his partners equipment
 
And it's his own bag etc ? Then I believe it is a one shot penalty
 
Own bag, 1 shot penalty and drop.

FC's bag -No penalty Option of replaying the shot or playing from where it ended up - after drop.
 
Yup it Deffo landed in my bag strange thing is I was worried if it hit my bag if I would have a penalty shot or two coz I went and won comp by two points.
 
Yup it Deffo landed in my bag strange thing is I was worried if it hit my bag if I would have a penalty shot or two coz I went and won comp by two points.

So your fc hit the ball and it went in your bag ?

In that case no penalty and a drop or replay shot
 
Sounds like you were playing a Stableford game, in which case the procedure for landing in a fellow competitors bag would be to lift the ball out, move the bag and drop the ball, no penalty.

Replaying the shot is only available as an option in matchplay.
 
Own bag, 1 shot penalty and drop.

FC's bag -No penalty Option of replaying the shot or playing from where it ended up - after drop.

So your fc hit the ball and it went in your bag ?

In that case no penalty and a drop or replay shot

Are you sure about the option to replay the shot? I don't have access to a rule book at the moment but I didn't think that was an option.
 
Are you sure about the option to replay the shot? I don't have access to a rule book at the moment but I didn't think that was an option.


Just had a quick peek and you are correct :thup:

Just the drop it is then
 
Played in a nine hole comp on Thursday and me playing partner was about 60 yd from the green in the deep rough. Me and another playing partner put our bags about 10 yd to his right of the green. He proceeds to leather his ball which shoots up 40 yard in the air towards us. We move to the right and our 4th playing partner screams "it's landed in your bag". The bottle carrier at the side of my of my bag has nowt acquired a ball. Us three are now bent over double laughing but guy who plays shot initially does not look happy coz he thinks he has a two shot penalty.

so what is the actual ruling please.
My response to shots like that is
"I missed it! Do it again!"
 
The reference is Rule 19-1a.

The most recent high level application of this Rule that I know of is this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDCkqkItMrQ

Rushed back to the computer to correct the rubbish reference before anyone noticed - but too late. It's not 19-1a that applies, it's 24-1b. :o

19-1a does, however, apply to the ball in the pocket in the video reference.
 
Rushed back to the computer to correct the rubbish reference before anyone noticed - but too late. It's not 19-1a that applies, it's 24-1b. :o

19-1a does, however, apply to the ball in the pocket in the video reference.

Surely it's 19-4 ---> 19-1a

19-4. By Fellow-Competitor, Caddie Or Equipment In Stroke Play

See Rule 19-1 regarding ball deflected by outside agency.
 
Surely it's 19-4 ---> 19-1a

19-4. By Fellow-Competitor, Caddie Or Equipment In Stroke Play

See Rule 19-1 regarding ball deflected by outside agency.

I think I will go for a little lie down now and maybe think more clearly in the morning. The bag is, of course, an obstruction and so 24-1b isn't entirely daft and the procedure is exactly the same ... but even so :rolleyes:
 
I plead guilty at the end of a long day, a large Tanqueray and a few glasses of a rather tasty Merlot of too readily assuming I had made a mistake and Mr Foxholer would be correct.

Now Mr Foxholer. Your ball is stopped by your fellow competitor's bag and so you look to 19-4 regarding a ball deflected or stopped by a fellow competitor's equipment. That refers you to 19-1 since the bag is an outside agency and you are told to play the ball as it lies. But does 19-1 tell you what to do if the ball is in or on an inanimate outside agency. Does any other part of Rule 19 tell us? Only if it is your opponent's equipment. If you do not want to play your ball as it lies, how do you get out of your fix? By realising that your ball is lying on a movable obstruction and applying 24-1b, perhaps?
 
Colin has it I think. One has to bear in mind that near enough everything on a golf course is an outside agency (OA for short). See definition of OA to see what isn't. But some OAs have additional status conferred on them by other definitions and rules.

Rule 19-1 only deals with moving or animate OAs. For stationary OAs you have to play it as it lies - unless the OA happens to have additional status. Like being an obstruction for example. In other circumstances the OA could be a loose impediment and one's options would be different. Now if Tashyboy had been walking past carrying his bag at the time the ball landed in it, 19-1 would be the right rule but in this case it's 24-1b as Colin says
 
But don't overlook that as I mentioned, 19-3 does deal with the ball being stopped by and resting in or on your opponent's inanimate equipment in match play.

In the case of of the spectator who collected McIlory's drive in his trouser pocket, he was probably lucky it did not render his equipment inanimate. :whistle:
 
Top