talking balls!

time_vans

Head Pro
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
369
Visit site
i persume subject to not losing a ball you should finish the hole with the one you started i.e not swapping it on the green. but do you have to finish the round with the same ball again subject to not losing it. just wondered if some players swap balls mid course due to length of holes,changing conditions etc or am i literally talking balls :D
 
tim, you may swap your ball after every hole. You may also swap the make or model of ball you use. One advantage we have over the pros, they have to use the same make and model all the way round.

If your ball is damaged i.e a big smiling cut, you may in certain circumstances, and with your partners agreement, change your ball mid hole.
 
You may well jest.....

I played a distance ball many years ago and pulled out a titleist balata for a nasty par 3......i got a funny few looks!!! it landed 6 ft past the flag, spun (as they did!) and rolled all the way back off the front of the green....how cool did I look!! (not)

Yes, you've got to finish the hole, unless you can justify that it's damaged beyond playable (I guess!).
 
I may be wrong or its only covered in pro ranks but does the ball not need to be the same compression when its changed?
 
Rule 5.3 doesn't make any mention of a substitute ball being of the same type, nor I think does it state that a provisional has to be of the same type.
 
Top