Striking ball on practice swing

Thread starter #1

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
What is the ruling if you accidentally strike your ball on a practice swing.

Looking at this for when the ball is in play not off the tee.
 

Slime

Tour Winner
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
12,468
Location
Surrey
I believe you replace the ball without penalty ................................... but I may be wrong.
 
Thread starter #3

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
I believe you replace the ball without penalty ................................... but I may be wrong.
so how it went was the ball was played from where it came to rest, as I was advised this was correct and if the ball had been moved it would be a penalty.

Guess I am wrong but I thought it would be replay with a one stroke penalty
 

Liverpoolphil

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
37,899
Location
Leighton Buzzard
What is the ruling if you accidentally strike your ball on a practice swing.

Looking at this for when the ball is in play not off the tee.
Depends if it’s on the tee or not and if your on the green or not

1. Tee - replace the ball no penalty
2. Fairway/rough etc - replace the ball 1 shot penalty
3. Green - replace the ball no penalty
 
Thread starter #5

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
Depends if it’s on the tee or not and if your on the green or not

1. Tee - replace the ball no penalty
2. Fairway/rough etc - replace the ball 1 shot penalty
3. Green - replace the ball no penalty
cheers Phil,

This was exactly how I believed it but was advised it had changed within the new rules. The point being it was not a stroke as there was no intent to strike the ball as a practice swing.

Therefore play as it lies no penalty
 

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,129
Depends if it’s on the tee or not and if your on the green or not

1. Tee - replace the ball no penalty
2. Fairway/rough etc - replace the ball 1 shot penalty
3. Green - replace the ball no penalty
Above is correct, addition to no. 2 - includes bunkers and penalty areas.
And, if you play the ball from where it moved to, the penalty increases to two strokes (total) for playing from a wrong place.
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,280
Location
Edinburgh
so how it went was the ball was played from where it came to rest, as I was advised this was correct and if the ball had been moved it would be a penalty.

Guess I am wrong but I thought it would be replay with a one stroke penalty
Oh dear. You actually copped a 2 stroke penalty (unless your ball was on the putting green) which is all the more annoying for you since you were right in the first place.

As you thought, you should have replaced with a one stroke penalty. Because you didn't, you played from a wrong place and that cost you a two stroke penalty.

As well as the situations in which there is no penalty for causing your ball to move already mentioned, you can add accidentally moving your ball when searching for it.

And I should add that in the teeing area, there is no penalty provided your ball is not yet in play.
 
Last edited:

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,129
Oh dear. You actually copped a 2 stroke penalty (unless your ball was on the putting green) which is all the more annoying for you since you were right in the first place.

As you thought, you should have replaced with a one stroke penalty. Because you didn't, you played from a wrong place and that cost you a two stroke penalty.

As well as the situations in which there is no penalty for causing your ball to move already mentioned, you can add accidentally moving your ball when searching for it.

And I should add that in the teeing area, there is no penalty provided your ball is not yet in play.
Colin, actually there is no penalty if the ball is in the teeing area regardless of whether it is in play or not (Rule 6.2b(6) which refers to 9.4b, Exception 1). Rgds.
 
Thread starter #11

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
Oh dear. You actually copped a 2 stroke penalty (unless your ball was on the putting green) which is all the more annoying for you since you were right in the first place.

As you thought, you should have replaced with a one stroke penalty. Because you didn't, you played from a wrong place and that cost you a two stroke penalty.

As well as the situations in which there is no penalty for causing your ball to move already mentioned, you can add accidentally moving your ball when searching for it.

And I should add that in the teeing area, there is no penalty provided your ball is not yet in play.
Thank you, fortunately for me it was not me who did this.

However the rule the person who did strike the ball cited was that there was no intention to play a shot therefore it did not count as a penalty as the impact was accidental. So no stroke was played. I am unaware of the rule number but apparently it is stated around the basis of intent.

Neither myself or the third Player in our group knew the rule other than our belief it was a penalty.

But I would ask, anyone heard of this ‘Intent’ point before

To me, unless accidentally moved in a search any action which moves a ball in play other than on a green intentionally or not is a penalty and the ball needs to be replaced. Though I maybe wrong here.

Would add, in a good few years of playing this is the first time I have seen this happen.
 
Last edited:

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,280
Location
Edinburgh
To me, unless accidentally moved in a search any action which moves a ball in play other than on a green intentionally or not is a penalty and the ball needs to be replaced. Though I maybe wrong here
Not wrong but there's an important qualification to make. Add in "other than when the Rules allow" to penalty for intentionally touching or moving your ball in play. I know you know that, but for completion it needs to be said.

However the rule the person who did strike the ball cited was that there was no intention to play a shot therefore it did not count as a penalty as the impact was accidental. So no stroke was played. I am unaware of the rule number but apparently it is stated around the basis of intent.
A practice swing is not counted as a stroke as it is made without the intention of hitting the ball. Moving your ball accidentally with a practice swing can, however, incur a penalty stroke. There are situations in which a stroke is counted and a penalty is applied, but this is not one of them because no actual stroke has been made.
 
Last edited:
Thread starter #13

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
Not wrong but there's an important qualification to make. Add in "other than when the Rules allow" to penalty for intentional touching of or moving your ball in play. I know you know that, but it needs to be said.
Absolutely, thank you
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
10,480
Location
Yeovil
So, penalty for hitting it with no intention of doing so, or for playing it from the wrong spot? Confused
It is one shot for penalty for accidental movement of the ball and another one shot penalty if you fail to replace it to it's original position.
 

salfordlad

Active member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
163
It’s definitely the tee, in this, if you accidentally strike your ball while practicing the swing on the tee, then you must replace your ball without any penalty. Check Zach Johnson's 13th tee at the masters on youtube.
The bolded words are incorrect. If the accidental movement of a ball occurs on the teeing area there is no penalty AND there is no requirement to replace the ball. If the accidental contact with the ball has moved it out of the teeing area, the ball must be lifted and played from anywhere within the teeing area. If the movement left the ball in the teeing area, the player is free to play as lies or move it anywhere in the teeing area.
 

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,143
Location
Kent
A pp accidentally hit his ball with a practice stroke on the green, we double checked that it was no penalty and replace the ball, I have decided that I shall declare every poor putt as a practice swing in future 😁😁😁
 
Thread starter #18

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
A pp accidentally hit his ball with a practice stroke on the green, we double checked that it was no penalty and replace the ball, I have decided that I shall declare every putt as a practice swing in future 😁😁😁
Looks like you made a typo Chris, no worries have corrected for you
 

ADB

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
2,578
Location
Sussex
Apologies for the stupid question, but does replacing the ball mean having to find your original or can you just use a different ball? I'm thinking if you spooned it into the bundu with a practice swing do you have to try and find that ball or can you just drop another then go and look (if you want the ball back)?
 
Top