Start practising

OK. So a guy I played with last week had a chest length putter.

At address, his upper hand was firmly pressed against his chest. As far as I could see, as he took his backswing his upper hand still seemed to be against his chest but on the forward stroke both hands moved towards the intended line of the stroke. For example, the upper hand moved (say) 4" while the lower hand moved (say) 12". Very awkward looking but boy was it effective on longer putts. He sunk 3 of 25 ft plus, 2 of which were from just off the green. Shame about his short range putts though. :eek:

Question is, after 1/1/2016 will his putting style be illegal? i.e. is anchoring for part of the stroke OK or not?
 
The wording of the new rule will be "In making a stroke, the player must not ....." I read that as meaning for the whole or any part of the stroke so the guy you mention will have to change.

Perhaps any further discussion would be best done in the thread in The Lounge. I hadn't noticed it when I started this one.
 
Top