Solheim Cup 2021

Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
579
Can confirm I'm now watching the tour championship, a handicap tournament for 15 million dollars is somehow doing a better job of standing up for the principles of the game. IMO.
 

Backsticks

Assistant Pro
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
313
Surely the 10 seconds begin after they player gets to the hole without undue delay...
Korda didn't try to get to the hole without undue delay because she was writhing around on the ground bemoaning her luck.
Get up, get to the hole and then see...
If you want 10 seconds...get there sooner.
Rules dont say that though. You can wait the 10s, but must then get to the hole in reasonable amount of time but then no 10s.

Golf works when played by the rules, not what people might like them to be, incorrect applications of them, etc. Unless you are Tiger Woods, that has always been the way.
 
Thread starter #71

Crow

Crow Person
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
6,885
Location
Leicestershire
I thought that in matchplay it was the right of a player to overlook a transgression by an opponent, so what is the official doing sticking their oar in when team USA have said nothing?
 

Backsticks

Assistant Pro
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
313
Nellie said nothing and was sitting on the floor. Wouldn't have got there in 10 seconds.
Doesnt have to get there in 10s. She can consume her 10s kneeling in sorrow. And then get to the hole in a reasonable time.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
579
If I was in this situation,

1. I would have left the ball until the other player picked it up

2. If my opponent claimed the hole as mentioned any enjoyment or sense of responsibility to play golf would have been lost and match would be conceded.

Or

1. Id have asked them not to touch it until i was sure it wasnt moving. (Even though by throwing my putter and dropping to my knees i think i knew it had stopped).

2. If i didnt stop them, then I'd have assumed there integrity was intact and left it at that.

If my captain came and asked me to claim tbe hole I'd have politely refused.
 

ColchesterFC

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
5,250
I thought that in matchplay it was the right of a player to overlook a transgression by an opponent, so what is the official doing sticking their oar in when team USA have said nothing?
Commentary have just said that the rules officials have been told to intervene if they see a breach of the rules so it's possible that the official didn't have any choice under what she's been told to do.
 

Imurg

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
30,850
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
So are they effectively saying you have to wait 10 seconds before conceding a putt..?
Even if the ball is a foot away?
After all, the wind might blow it in..
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
Messages
566
So are they effectively saying you have to wait 10 seconds before conceding a putt..?
Even if the ball is a foot away?
After all, the wind might blow it in..
No, it's the overhanging the whole bit that is crucial here. Not sure how the referee could see that from off the green though.
 
Top