Settle an argument over Rule 7.1

BrizoH71

Tour Rookie
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
1,196
Location
Livingston
brianhealy.net
Couple of mates and I are supposed to playing later today prior to our opening day ceremony (Captain's Drive) and 9-hole sweep. The sweep isn't a counter, is stableford and is a shotgun start.

One of my mates doesn't want to play now as he says it contravenes rule 7.1. I think he's talking baws, and that 7.1 only applies to counting competitions, of which this isn't one.

Who's right?
 
Good to see that your mate is keeping the fun side of golf going!!! :)

As you know playing or practising on the course prior to a strokeplay event contravines rule 7.1. There is nothing in the rules that distiguishes between qualifying and non qualifying events so your mate is correct.
 
If by " counting competitions" you mean qualifying competitions for handicap purposes that is just a CONGU definition. Rule 7-1b is a rule of golf that applies to any competition.
 
Nearly every society day I've played has had a 9 hole Texas Scramble on the main course prior to the main, 18 hole Stableford.

The whole field plays the Scramble, so no one gets an unfair advantage and the days are all non qualifiers. Who cares if it's not allowed? It's a fun day out and doesn't affect anyone's handicap.
 
Nearly every society day I've played has had a 9 hole Texas Scramble on the main course prior to the main, 18 hole Stableford.

The whole field plays the Scramble, so no one gets an unfair advantage and the days are all non qualifiers. Who cares if it's not allowed? It's a fun day out and doesn't affect anyone's handicap.

Wise words sir
 
Nearly every society day I've played has had a 9 hole Texas Scramble on the main course prior to the main, 18 hole Stableford.

The whole field plays the Scramble, so no one gets an unfair advantage and the days are all non qualifiers. Who cares if it's not allowed? It's a fun day out and doesn't affect anyone's handicap.

Very well put :thup:
 
As you know playing or practising on the course prior to a strokeplay event contravines rule 7.1.

Q to the R&A: Would playing in the morning in one competition be considered to be practice and preclude playing later in another competition?
A from the R&A: Yes, it would be considered to be practice.

However:

7-1 Note: The Committee may, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1), ................................. permit practice on the competition course or part of the course (Rule 33-2c) on any day of or between rounds of a stroke-play competition.

 

Similar threads

D
Replies
18
Views
5K
Top