Second injury in 3 months...any thoughts why?

chris1976x

Hacker
Visit site
I'm new to golf, but really got the bug. I started learning to play golf in June, all was going well while I was learning to hit irons on the range, I then started to learn to hit the driver. This was going fine for a while (very many slices though) but after being told by my instructor my swing was too steep for the driver then thats when the problem seems to have occurred. I went to hit a shot, took the club back and as I started accelerating through the down swing I all of sudden got a pain in my side and had pulled a muscle in my side/chest.

This kept me out of action for about 3 weeks, which was ok as I was on holiday for 3 weeks anyway. I thought this was probably a one off.

So I started again when I got back off holiday. Avoided the woods and driver for a good amount of time, really set to work on irons. Started to hit them really cleanly (for me anyway) I was really ripping the club through and getting 170-180 yards from my 5 hybrid, 160-170 for 6 iron and so on, mainly going straight, sometimes I do pull or hook them, but that seems to be just weight transfer timing which was getting better and better the more balls I hit.

So i then decided to start hitting the woods again, I was having a lesson and we started on the 3 wood, it was going really well, was hitting it 220 yards sometimes but again I was slicing too many, my swing had got a bit steep again, so again I lowered my swing path, and out of the blue with no warning the exact same thing happened again, pulled a muscle when accelerating through the downswing. So again i'm out of action.

I was wondering if this is a common injury, or am I doing something fundamentally wrong thats causing this to happen. It seems to only happen when I purposely make my swing shallower. Is it common for newbies to the game to injure themselves due to incorrect technique?