ruling on paths please

robbo_27

Newbie
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
5
Visit site
hi my ball came to rest on the right hand side of a path,last sunday the question I,m asking is are you allowed to stand on the path to play the ball which I dropped off the path ,or do you have to stand off the path also
as the terrain would be I,m holding the club above my shoulders
any advice please
regards robbo_27
 
If you are taking relief from the path ( ensure that the local rules deem you can ) then you must take full relief from the path.
 
cheers chaps for the replie, when I took the drop the balled rolled some 18" on the flat ground ,was I allowed to play the shot while standing on the path or have I to drop the ball again ,till my feet are off the path,sorry for not explaining more
 
cheers chaps for the replie, when I took the drop the balled rolled some 18" on the flat ground ,was I allowed to play the shot while standing on the path or have I to drop the ball again ,till my feet are off the path,sorry for not explaining more


You have to take full relief from the path dropping the ball and your feet still on the path is not full relief
 
sorry LP just I may have worded it wrong, when i took the drop i was not on the path it was just the ball came to rest outside the path ,so are you telling me that i cannot stand on the path to play the ball and have to drop it till i,m standing completely off the path to play it
 
Yes, as already stated you have to re-drop if the path still interferes with the shot OR your stance. Of course you don't have to take relief in the first place and can play as it lies, if the ball isn't actually on the path and lying OK it's often not worth it.

Also, just to clarify, you get relief from a path (assuming an artificial surface of whatever kind) under rules of golf and no local rule is necessary though many clubs do print this on the card for some reason (never really understood why). However, there can be a local rule stating they are an integral part of the course and relief then not an option so it's always worth checking local rules anyway.
 
sorry LP just I may have worded it wrong, when i took the drop i was not on the path it was just the ball came to rest outside the path ,so are you telling me that i cannot stand on the path to play the ball and have to drop it till i,m standing completely off the path to play it

If you can take relief, you can drop within 1 clublength of NPoR - so ball rolling slightly is not normally a problem (it can roll up to 2 clublengths and still be a valid drop if all other conditions are met). If it does roll back so you are standing on the path, then re-drop. If the re-drop does the sam thing, then you get to place the ball where it first touched a part of the course.
 
Last edited:
hi my ball came to rest on the right hand side of a path,last sunday the question I,m asking is are you allowed to stand on the path to play the ball which I dropped off the path ,or do you have to stand off the path also
as the terrain would be I,m holding the club above my shoulders
any advice please
regards robbo_27

You need to read this as no one seems to have explained npr (nearest point of relief) and the one clublength aspecs

[h=2]RELIEF FROM IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS[/h][h=2]24-2b/1[/h][h=4]Determining "Nearest Point of Relief"[/h]Q.The Note to the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" provides that the player should determine this point by using "the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such stroke." May the player use any club, address position, direction of play or swing in determining the nearest point of relief?
A.No. In determining the nearest point of relief accurately it is recommended that the player use the club, address position, direction of play and swing (right or left-handed) that he would have used had the obstruction or condition not been there. For example, the player has interference from an immovable obstruction and, were it not for the obstruction, he would have used a right-handed stroke with a 4-iron to play the ball from its original position towards the green. To determine the nearest point of relief accurately, he should use a right-handed stroke with a 4-iron and the direction of play should be towards the green. See also Decisions 20-2c/0.7 and 20-2c/0.8.

[h=2]25-1b/2[/h][h=4]Diagrams Illustrating Nearest Point of Relief[/h]The diagrams illustrate the term "nearest point of relief" in Rule 25-1b(i) in the case of both a right-handed and left-handed player.
The "nearest point of relief" must be strictly interpreted. A player is not permitted to choose on which side of the ground under repair he will drop the ball, unless there are two equidistant "nearest points of relief." Even if one side of the ground under repair is fairway and the other is bushes, if the "nearest point of relief" is in the bushes then the player, if taking relief, must drop the ball within one club-length of that point, even though he may have to drop the ball in a virtually unplayable lie.
The same procedure applies under Rule 24-2b dealing with immovable obstructions.
Dec25-1b-2LEFT.jpg

Dec25-1b-2RIGHT.jpg
 
Top