1anW
Newbie
Hi, any help on a recent situation, much appreciated.
Ball was played and was heading towards a water hazard. After a few minutes, partner finds a ball sitting inside the water, but borderline playable. A 'van de Velde' if you like!
Ball is same brand, number and with a blue dot. I attempt to hit it from the water, fail miserably, then pick it out, and drop to play under penalty. Before playing, I see it's not my ball, (Nxt instead of a ProV) We assume hole lost as incorrect ball played. Afterwards, browsing the rules, I come across Rule 15.3, which suggests a wrong ball played from a water hazard does not count, but the rule says 'moving' in a water hazard, which is where our confusion lies.
Can't imagine anyone playing an actual moving ball, so if anyone can help clarify, it would be great to know what the proper outcome should have been. Cheers.
Ball was played and was heading towards a water hazard. After a few minutes, partner finds a ball sitting inside the water, but borderline playable. A 'van de Velde' if you like!
Ball is same brand, number and with a blue dot. I attempt to hit it from the water, fail miserably, then pick it out, and drop to play under penalty. Before playing, I see it's not my ball, (Nxt instead of a ProV) We assume hole lost as incorrect ball played. Afterwards, browsing the rules, I come across Rule 15.3, which suggests a wrong ball played from a water hazard does not count, but the rule says 'moving' in a water hazard, which is where our confusion lies.
Can't imagine anyone playing an actual moving ball, so if anyone can help clarify, it would be great to know what the proper outcome should have been. Cheers.