kozmos
Assistant Pro
Playing a foursomes match yesterday, our fc's ball pitched on the green then landed on the fringe.. was he in his right to repair the pitch mark which was on his line ?
Yep, this was covered in some detail in the "Rules Myth" thread last week..... http://forums.golf-monthly.co.uk/showthread.php?72733-Another-rules-myth
Basically, there's no requirement for the ball to be on the green, it's where the pitchmark is that is important. ie if the pitchmark isn't on the green you can't touch it.
You can (and should) repair it after you have played your shot though!Yep, this was covered in some detail in the "Rules Myth" thread last week..... http://forums.golf-monthly.co.uk/showthread.php?72733-Another-rules-myth
Basically, there's no requirement for the ball to be on the green, it's where the pitchmark is that is important. ie if the pitchmark isn't on the green you can't touch it.
You can (and should) repair it after you have played your shot though!![]()