Relief from casual water in bunker

cliveb

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
3,250
Visit site
Yesterday a situation cropped up that prompts me to ask two questions. What happened was that my ball ended up in a puddle in a bunker. However, the puddle was towards the back of the bunker, and there was no part of the bunker that was free of water which wasn't nearer the hole than my ball. Also, the only part of the bunker free of water was on a slope and whenever I tried to drop the ball there it just rolled back into the puddle. In the end, as it was just a bounce game we agreed that I should place the ball in the bunker, even though it was slightly nearer the hole. For future reference I'd like to know what I should have done. I can't really figure out how rule 25-1b(ii) would apply to this situation, so my questions are:

1. If the only part of the bunker free of water is closer to the hole, can I drop inside the bunker closer to the hole, or must I drop outside the bunker - in which case is there a 1 shot penalty? Is my only penalty-free option to play the ball as it lies, still in the puddle?
2. If dropping the ball into a part of the bunker that is free of water always results in the ball rolling back into the puddle, can the ball then be placed?
 
1. If the only part of the bunker free of water is closer to the hole, can I drop inside the bunker closer to the hole, or must I drop outside the bunker - in which case is there a 1 shot penalty? Is my only penalty-free option to play the ball as it lies, still in the puddle?

Your only penalty free option is to play it from in the bunker. It cannot be nearer the hole but you don't have to take full relief from the water.

This is the rule.

25-1b(ii) In a Bunker: If the ball is in a bunker, the player must lift the ball and drop it either:
(a)
Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above, except that the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker or, if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, on a part of the course in thebunker that affords maximum available relief from the condition; or

(b)
Under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind thebunker the ball may be dropped.

25-1b/5 Explanation of "Maximum Available Relief" from Casual Water in Bunker

Q.In a bunker completely covered by casual water, is the place providing "maximum available relief" the spot which will provide the most relief for both lie and stance or just lie?
A.The term applies to both lie and stance. The spot providing "maximum available relief" might be such that the ball will be in shallower water than the player's feet after he takes his stance, or vice versa.

2. If dropping the ball into a part of the bunker that is free of water always results in the ball rolling back into the puddle, can the ball then be placed?
Yes.
25-1b/6
Ball Dropped from Casual Water in Bunker at Point of Maximum Relief Rolls Elsewhere

Q.A player whose ball lies in a bunker completely covered by casual water drops his ball under Rule 25-1b(ii) at a spot where there is 1￾„4 inch of casual water. This spot is the nearest spot providing maximum available relief. The ball rolls into a spot where there is about 1￾„2 inch of casual water. What is the ruling?
A.In equity (Rule 1-4), and under the principle of Rule 20-2c(v), the player may re-drop and, if the ball so rolls again, place the ball where it first struck a part of the course when re-dropped.
 
Top