Relief from bunkers

24849308

Newbie
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
4
Visit site
New to this forum so apologies if it is in the wrong place. On a recent round a friend had to take relief whilst in a bunker due to water being in it. He was unable to take complete relief anywhere in the bunker without having his backswing touch the lip of the bunker. Is he therefore able to take relief outwith the bunker without penalty?
 
New to this forum so apologies if it is in the wrong place. On a recent round a friend had to take relief whilst in a bunker due to water being in it. He was unable to take complete relief anywhere in the bunker without having his backswing touch the lip of the bunker. Is he therefore able to take relief outwith the bunker without penalty?

Welcome to the forum

No, if he cant take relief fully inside the bunker he either has to try and play it as it lies or take relief outside the hazard, under penalty
 
New to this forum so apologies if it is in the wrong place. On a recent round a friend had to take relief whilst in a bunker due to water being in it. He was unable to take complete relief anywhere in the bunker without having his backswing touch the lip of the bunker. Is he therefore able to take relief outwith the bunker without penalty?

I'm afraid he isn't

Can only take relief outside bunker if the bunker has been deemed GUR
 
New to this forum so apologies if it is in the wrong place. On a recent round a friend had to take relief whilst in a bunker due to water being in it. He was unable to take complete relief anywhere in the bunker without having his backswing touch the lip of the bunker. Is he therefore able to take relief outwith the bunker without penalty?

unfortunatley not mate , bad greenkeeping / course manager.. drop out , 1 shot
 
Firstly, it is not a requirement to take full relief from casual water in a bunker. If necessary you can drop where there is the least interference from the water - i.e. where it is shallowest. Not nearer the hole, of course. If you have to take relief outside the bunker, it will cost you a penalty stroke. You must drop a ball along the line from the hole through where your ball lies - as far back as you like. You could alternatively replay from where you played your last stroke also with a one stroke penalty.
 
I'm no expert on this but from what I understand is that there are three choices within the rules and each one carries a one shot penalty.

1. Drop within two club lengths of where the ball landed to the nearest point of relief within the bunker not on the original line.
2. Drop within the bunker to the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole
3. Go back on the line of the original shot as far as you like including back to the tee
All of the above come under the unplayable ball rule but I'm sure someone will correct me.
 
I'm no expert on this but from what I understand is that there are three choices within the rules and each one carries a one shot penalty.

1. Drop within two club lengths of where the ball landed to the nearest point of relief within the bunker not on the original line.
2. Drop within the bunker to the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole
3. Go back on the line of the original shot as far as you like including back to the tee
All of the above come under the unplayable ball rule but I'm sure someone will correct me.

Mike, that's a bit of a mix-up! The question is about relief from casual water (an abnormal ground condition) in a bunker not an unplayable ball.

The player has these options:
to play the ball as it lies without penalty;
to find the nearest point of relief or the nearest point of maximum relief in the bunker and drop within one club length without penalty;
to drop outside the bunker on the line from the hole through where the ball lay as far back as he likes with a one stroke penalty;
to replay from where he played his last stroke with a one stroke penalty.
 
the trouble with dropping in a wet bunker is the balls plugs :(

I don't find that troublesome. At least I know how it's going to 'react'. If full relief is available, then it doesn't so much plug as just sit a tiny bit lower on a fairly even surface. It's actually one of the shots I've practiced!
 
The bunker I was in today it plugged half ball after a drop from water. It is a shot i know how to play as well, but not one ide choose to have.
 
Mike, that's a bit of a mix-up! The question is about relief from casual water (an abnormal ground condition) in a bunker not an unplayable ball.

The player has these options:
to play the ball as it lies without penalty;
to find the nearest point of relief or the nearest point of maximum relief in the bunker and drop within one club length without penalty; But not nearer the hole
to drop outside the bunker on the line from the hole through where the ball lay as far back as he likes with a one stroke penalty;
to replay from where he played his last stroke with a one stroke penalty.

Option II The ball must be dropped no nearer the hole.
 
Option II The ball must be dropped no nearer the hole.

And 'maximum relief' must also be not nearer the hole.

'not nearer the hole' is part of the definition of NROR.

Here's the relevant bit of 25-1 (b ii)

(a) Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above, except that the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker or, if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, on a part of the course in the bunker that affords maximum available relief from the condition; or

Clause i specifies dropping within 1 club not nearer the hole.
 
The line in the original post that made me chuckle was that he couldn't take relief as the club would touch the lip of the bunker on the backswing. If only we all got relief from such a situation!
 
Top