Relief from an animal scrape..........in a bunker

ColchesterFC

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
7,234
Visit site
Hopefully a fairly straightforward question. I played today and put my second shot on the 6th hole into a greenside bunker. Within the bunker there were obvious rabbit footprints and at the end of them a scrape about 2 inches deep with very clear claw marks and another set of footprints leading away from the scrape. My ball and stance weren't affected by them and I raked them after playing my shot so it wasn't an issue.

My question is - do you get relief from animal scrapes in a bunker? And if so I assume it would be a drop at nearest point of relief. Is that correct?

And what would the situation be if it was an animal scrape in a water hazard?
 
you do get relief in a bunker but you must drop the ball in the bunker, no relief in a water hazard.

edit to add, you may take relief outside and behind a bunker under penalty of one stroke.
 
Last edited:
Hopefully a fairly straightforward question. I played today and put my second shot on the 6th hole into a greenside bunker. Within the bunker there were obvious rabbit footprints and at the end of them a scrape about 2 inches deep with very clear claw marks and another set of footprints leading away from the scrape. My ball and stance weren't affected by them and I raked them after playing my shot so it wasn't an issue.

My question is - do you get relief from animal scrapes in a bunker? And if so I assume it would be a drop at nearest point of relief. Is that correct?

And what would the situation be if it was an animal scrape in a water hazard?

I've never seen a scrape in water, how do these pesky rabbits achieve that? :smirk:

I don't know the answer to the question, although I would [hazard] a guess that your in a hazard so all bets are off, and personally, the last thing I would want to do anyway irrelevant of the ruling is drop in a bunker creating a plugged lie!
 
you do get relief in a bunker but you must drop the ball in the bunker, no relief in a water hazard.

edit to add, you may take relief outside and behind a bunker under penalty of one stroke.
Only if you go all the way back to where your last stroke was played from.
I found out the hard way :mad:
 
Does no one even own a rulebook?!?!?!?

Rule 296.5- "If it becomes clear, that when entering a bunker that an animal has affected the natural contours of the sand present therein, proceed by hitting the bloody ball on to the green."
 
Does no one even own a rulebook?!?!?!?

Rule 296.5- "If it becomes clear, that when entering a bunker that an animal has affected the natural contours of the sand present therein, proceed by hitting the bloody ball on to the green."
I just wish you had been in my game at St Andrews KOKs. :rofl:
 
Only if you go all the way back to where your last stroke was played from.
I found out the hard way :mad:

I think you are confusing relief from an abnormal ground condition which allows you to drop under penalty outside a bunker anywhere along the line from the hole through where the ball lay (see Rule 25-1b (ii)(b) and relief from an unplayable ball in a bunker where your only option for a drop outside the bunker is stroke and distance.
 
Does no one even own a rulebook?!?!?!?

Rule 296.5- "If it becomes clear, that when entering a bunker that an animal has affected the natural contours of the sand present therein, proceed by hitting the bloody ball on to the green."

You were never as outspoken as this before you played against the Ping 8 - amazing what an unexpected win can do for you.
 
I've never seen a scrape in water, how do these pesky rabbits achieve that? :smirk:

Some people have never lived. I took the following photo last week on my course by the lake on the 3rd.....

Rabbit.jpg

I was actually thinking of a case where you were on the bank of a water hazard or the water had receded during a hot spell.
 
Only if you go all the way back to where your last stroke was played from.
I found out the hard way :mad:



extract from rule 25-1

As an additional option when the ball is in a bunker, you may take relief from the condition by dropping the ball outside and behind the bunker under penalty of one stroke.
 
extract from rule 25-1

As an additional option when the ball is in a bunker, you may take relief from the condition by dropping the ball outside and behind the bunker under penalty of one stroke.
In my case no animal scrapings involved , unless you count El Banditos 8 attempts to get out of the same bunker as I watched and waited to play out of next :smirk:
 
Last edited:
I've never seen a scrape in water, how do these pesky rabbits achieve that? :smirk:

I don't know the answer to the question, although I would [hazard] a guess that your in a hazard so all bets are off, and personally, the last thing I would want to do anyway irrelevant of the ruling is drop in a bunker creating a plugged lie!

A water hazard doesn't necessarily have to contain water at the time you may be in it. ;)
 
Hopefully a fairly straightforward question. I played today and put my second shot on the 6th hole into a greenside bunker. Within the bunker there were obvious rabbit footprints and at the end of them a scrape about 2 inches deep with very clear claw marks and another set of footprints leading away from the scrape. My ball and stance weren't affected by them and I raked them after playing my shot so it wasn't an issue.

My question is - do you get relief from animal scrapes in a bunker? And if so I assume it would be a drop at nearest point of relief. Is that correct?

And what would the situation be if it was an animal scrape in a water hazard?

The answer to your first question is basically yes. If you have a rule book, read the definition of 'Abnormal Ground Conditions' and Rule 25. In a bunker you may take a drop within the bunker at the nearest point of relief that is not nearer the hole. If this is not possible you may take a penalty drop outside the bunker. There is no relief from AGC in a water hazard.
 
The answer to your first question is basically yes. If you have a rule book, read the definition of 'Abnormal Ground Conditions' and Rule 25. In a bunker you may take a drop within the bunker at the nearest point of relief that is not nearer the hole. If this is not possible you may take a penalty drop outside the bunker. There is no relief from AGC in a water hazard.

Thanks for clearing that up Delc.
 
Top