Recommend a good DVD and book

jusme

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Hi complete novice, never played on a course, been on driving range twice and intend to take some lessons soon. Have learnt my lessons from other sports and before I pick up too many bad habits I want to learn good technique from the start.

There are so many DVD's and books out there and i don't want to end up following dudd advice. Can someone please recommend a good basic DVD and book for beginners to learn the basics well.

Many thanks

StrangelyBrown

Tour Winner
Visit site
If you can get a hold of Ernie Els' 'How to build a classic swing' on video or DVD I'd recommend it. For the novice it's great as he discusses the very basics such as grip, posture, allignment and so on. For the more advanced player he describes how to move the ball. It's well worth a watch whatever your ability.

feary

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I would recommend any book on golf from dr. bob rotella. They are really good, but are on the mental side of the game, not the technique.

kid2

Money List Winner
Visit site
Hi complete novice, never played on a course, been on driving range twice and intend to take some lessons soon. Have learnt my lessons from other sports and before I pick up too many bad habits I want to learn good technique from the start.

There are so many DVD's and books out there and i don't want to end up following dudd advice. Can someone please recommend a good basic DVD and book for beginners to learn the basics well.

Many thanks

Jusme,
Forget the DvD and book for a little bit yet.......As you have internet there are plenty of things to learn from the GM website......You'll get a grasp of the basic rules you need to play by as well......
I guess what im trying to tell you is see your pro get a few lessons and let your swing take care of itself.What you see in a book or Dvd maybe completely different to what a pro see's in your natural ability..Be patient above all.....