Re-seating adjustable drivers

cliveb

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
3,250
Visit site
I know that it's not permitted to change an adjustable driver during a round, but something came up today that I'm unsure about. Before today's round started, a PP set his driver up to standard loft. When he used it, it seemed clear that the head wasn't seated correctly. Is he then allowed to undo and reseat the head - to the same setting as he intended before the round started? This seems analogous to repairing a damaged club, which I believe is permitted.

(As it happens, he decided not to use the driver again during the round in case re-seating it was against the rules, but it would be helpful to know for future reference).
 
He would have to set it to exactly the setting it was prior to working loose, but, yes, it is okay to do this in this instance.
 
Sorry to hijack thread, similar topic, in 4BBB if one of the pair decides to adjust his Driver on the 18th Tee, what is the penalty?
 
I know that it's not permitted to change an adjustable driver during a round, but something came up today that I'm unsure about. Before today's round started, a PP set his driver up to standard loft. When he used it, it seemed clear that the head wasn't seated correctly. Is he then allowed to undo and reseat the head - to the same setting as he intended before the round started? This seems analogous to repairing a damaged club, which I believe is permitted.

(As it happens, he decided not to use the driver again during the round in case re-seating it was against the rules, but it would be helpful to know for future reference).

I don't know how you'd get around rule 4-2.

During a stipulated round, the playing characteristics of a club must not be purposely changed by adjustment or by any other means.
 
I don't know how you'd get around rule 4-2.

During a stipulated round, the playing characteristics of a club must not be purposely changed by adjustment or by any other means.

Classic case of agree but...

The question becomes whether the club started at standard loft but, during normal play, loosened and changed or not.

In practice, if the head was now loose enough to adjust then re-setting it before tightening would be under 4-3 and be acceptable. If it wasn't loose enough to adjust then it should be retightened as is in the absence of evidence to the contrary (eg the head is pretty much on backwards but won't adjust under reasonable pressure - evidence that it's loosened then tightened somehow!).

Obviously all assumes nothing outside normal play has had an effect.
 
Top