Puddles on greens

swanny32

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
1,922
Location
Tiptree, Essex - Where they make the Jam!
www.utilitywarehouse.org.uk
Seems the wrong time of year to be asking such a question but yesterday in a match against another club I found myself just off the fringe of the green and wanting to putt, unfortunately there was a small lake in the middle of the green which I would had to have putted through. Wasn't sure if I got relief so ended up chipping over (and nearly holed it). Was I entitled to a free drop?
 
Unfortunately not mate


25-1a/2 Casual Water on Putting Green Intervenes Between Ball Off Green and Hole

Q A player's ball lies just off the putting green and casual water on the green intervenes between the ball and the hole. Is the player entitled to relief?

Ans No. In addition, Rule 13-2 prohibits the player from removing casual water from his line of play.
 
Top