Provisional Ball - How many can you play?

KhalJimbo

Head Pro
Joined
Dec 22, 2014
Messages
334
Visit site
So on Saturday just having a friendly game with a friend of mine, we were on the second hole. I Tee'd up, and my first ball with far to the right into a massive hedge which was OOB, no chance of ever finding that ball, so I said I would play a provisional.

I tee'd up my provisional, and same thing happened again. I just said I'll play another provisional and tee'd it up, this time I found the fairway.

My question is, was I allowed to do this, how many provisional balls are you allowed to play? I've had a quick read on the provisional ball rules and googled this, but can't find anything about what happens if you lose your provisional off the tee.

Any advice?
 
So on Saturday just having a friendly game with a friend of mine, we were on the second hole. I Tee'd up, and my first ball with far to the right into a massive hedge which was OOB, no chance of ever finding that ball, so I said I would play a provisional.

I tee'd up my provisional, and same thing happened again. I just said I'll play another provisional and tee'd it up, this time I found the fairway.

My question is, was I allowed to do this, how many provisional balls are you allowed to play? I've had a quick read on the provisional ball rules and googled this, but can't find anything about what happens if you lose your provisional off the tee.

Any advice?

You can play as many provisionals as you want , your playing partners might not like you for it , after a few :)

A provisional is hit if you think you may not find your original ball (not including water hazzards)If you hit it OOB as you state then you are not hitting a provisional,its 3 off the tee ..
If there is a chance you will find it then call provisional ..If its a chance its in the clag and you DONT want to look or find it dont call a provisional
 
KhalJimbo, the critical point in your description of events - which Bladeplayer has picked up on - is that you say your ball went into a bush which was OOB. If that means you knew your ball was OOB then you had to put another ball into play under stroke and distance (See Rule 27-1b). Note the wording of Rule 27-2a. You can play a provisional if your original ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be OOB.
 
As many times as you like depending on

a) how many balls you have in your bag
b) how long it takes before your playing partners whack you over head
 
Remember each ball's relationship is to the most recent ball played, i.e. first provisional relates to original ball played, second provisional relates to first provisional, third provisional relates to second provisional and so on and so on. If you are going to play that many provisionals you might have to write it all down, including makes of ball, numbers and identifying marks - or, you could just give up golf.
 
As many times as you like depending on

a)
b) how long it takes before your playing partners whack you over head

This.

I was once within whisker of being beaten senseless when I played a 4th provisional - ie what would have been 9 off the tee. (Info. Original landed out of sight and may have been lost. Prov's 1-3 definitely OOB. P4 landed in play. Found the original. And no, we didn't hold anyone up.)
 
Whilst this is strictly the rules forum I would still suggest that there's also an element of 'until there's no point' from a scoring prospective. This could even include medal rounds!
 
FC once played two provisionals into the same trees as his original which had serious undergrowth and therefore one two or all three may have been lost. He found his first, (found all 3 actually) and declared it unplayable and went back to the tee. Hit a good one and made double bogey!!
 
I think that if my ball went flying into a hedge or bush on the OOB line - then unless the whole of the bush or hedge was clearly OOB than I'd always play a provisional as the ball may not have actually gone OOB. OP states the hedge was (fully) OOB - so not 'may' about it so no provisional (unless there is a chance the ball may have rebounded back into bounds?)
 
Thanks everyone, so if its definitely OOB then no provisional, do you just tee up again at a stoke penalty?

I think that if my ball went flying into a hedge or bush on the OOB line - then unless the whole of the bush or hedge was clearly OOB than I'd always play a provisional as the ball may not have actually gone OOB. OP states the hedge was (fully) OOB - so not 'may' about it so no provisional (unless there is a chance the ball may have rebounded back into bounds?)

This actually happened on another hole. It went left into a hedge (my playing partner did the same thing) so I tee'd up again and it went straight along the fairway. We were then walking towards my provisional, and lo and behold, there was my original ball about 10 yards in front of it. It must have hit a tree at the end of the hedge and bounced back out. Honestly didn't think I would see that ball again.

Strangely on another hole, about 40 yards in front and about 5 yards to the left of the tee playform there is a very small tree, probably about 6ft high. I drove off from that platform, and my ball hit the bottom of a small branch and just went full speed 90° vertical straight into the ground. Walked up to it to try find it, it had buried itself so deep in a hole of soft mud I couldn't get it out and had to drop (luckily it was classed as G.U.R so got a free drop). Had a good belly laugh at that happening. It all happened so fast :rofl:
 
Thanks everyone, so if its definitely OOB then no provisional, do you just tee up again at a stoke penalty?

One - OOB, Two - penalty shot, three - next shot from tee.
Rules call it playing under "Stroke and distance" penalty. Commonly just known as "3 off the tee". Principle is the same though if you go OOB at any time.



This actually happened on another hole. It went left into a hedge (my playing partner did the same thing) so I tee'd up again and it went straight along the fairway. We were then walking towards my provisional, and lo and behold, there was my original ball about 10 yards in front of it. It must have hit a tree at the end of the hedge and bounced back out. Honestly didn't think I would see that ball again.

Your second ball was only a provisional if you verbally stated so before playing it. Otherwise the second ball is simply "3 off the tee" and the first ball is lost under the rules.......even if you find it!!!
 
Your second ball was only a provisional if you verbally stated so before playing it. Otherwise the second ball is simply "3 off the tee" and the first ball is lost under the rules.......even if you find it!!!

I always make a point of verbally saying I'll play a provisional when I need too, a few times so far we have though we won't find the ball then when you walk to your provisional we see it.

I'm understanding this "3 Off the Tee" thing now.

Thanks everyone.
 
Top