plugged in the face of the bunker ...

I watched it live (on the tv) and they later interviewed the head rules official - and basically Grace's attempt to reach Australia reached netting instead and hey presto relief - could we not argue he created a platform in the sand and should have been penalised for that ?

Was disgraceful from the player, rules officials etc and all the commentators were up in arms about it. Never heard McGinley so animated in a negative way before. He was in a "hazard" and should be penalised for a poor shot not let off. Will any other pro now go digging in each bunker looking for relief, they make the most of any rules anyway as it is.

Radar was pleased when Grace bogied it but felt he was looking at a minimum double without the "drop"

Another example of professional golf doing itself no favours ......
 
I never realised there is a net within the bunkers.
Maybe people will be dropping a club in favour of a shovel in the bag.
 
Not really clear from the video if he was building a stance or just attempting to fairly take a stance

But if that part of the bunker is poor enough that taking a stance (with that loose sand) means he found the artificial liner/net then good on him for knowing the rule that may provide relief (we're quick to jump on pro for not knowing the basic rules)

It doesn't look like he's dug all that deep with his feet given the slope angle
 
Wow - people glad someone messes a hole up and calling him a disgrace because he has asked for a ruling from the on course ref and the ref has given him a drop within the rules !

He has acted within the rules , if he wasn't entitled to relief then the ref wouldn't have given him it - he was still in the hazard
 
Not really clear from the video if he was building a stance or just attempting to fairly take a stance

But if that part of the bunker is poor enough that taking a stance (with that loose sand) means he found the artificial liner/net then good on him for knowing the rule that may provide relief (we're quick to jump on pro for not knowing the basic rules)

It doesn't look like he's dug all that deep with his feet given the slope angle

That's how I saw it.
 
Wow - people glad someone messes a hole up and calling him a disgrace because he has asked for a ruling from the on course ref and the ref has given him a drop within the rules !

He has acted within the rules , if he wasn't entitled to relief then the ref wouldn't have given him it - he was still in the hazard


Finally some sense im this thread! No surprise it came from you Phil.

the rules are the rules, he used them to his advantage (as we all should if people actually learnt them). End of story in my book
 
Finally some sense im this thread! No surprise it came from you Phil.

the rules are the rules, he used them to his advantage (as we all should if people actually learnt them). End of story in my book

must admit I thought this when I read the thread. Keep hearing on this forum about using the rules, Grace has done that. Can't see the problem.
 
OK then the rule needs changing. You are in a hazard. On an up slope buried into the face at that. A player has no devine right to dig his feet in as much as he wants to ensure he has a decent footing. He should find the stance difficult.

If u dig so much that you find the bottom, stop digging.


Whole thing just doesn't sit right with me. Up there with phils sprinkler in the bush.
 
Top