Plugged ball /water hazzard question

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
9,146
Location
Emerald Isle
Visit site
This happened today and i have to admit i didnt know the answer to it ..

Player hits ball into lateral hazard (red) but decides its playable has a smack but only manages to bury it in the ground still in the hazard

Local rule of placing everywhere (except hazards of course )

Im fair sure he cant take an unplayable in a water hazard ( correct ? )

So what are his options please ?

As its still in the hazard does he still have the original options available with red stakes ? ie 2 club lengths not nearer the hole ? i did say i thought he would have this option but would ask before signing the card to be sure , ended up scratching the hole so it be came irrelevant anyhow


Thanks
 
This happened today and i have to admit i didnt know the answer to it ..

Player hits ball into lateral hazard (red) but decides its playable has a smack but only manages to bury it in the ground still in the hazard

Local rule of placing everywhere (except hazards of course )

Im fair sure he cant take an unplayable in a water hazard ( correct ? )

So what are his options please ?

As its still in the hazard does he still have the original options available with red stakes ? ie 2 club lengths not nearer the hole ? i did say i thought he would have this option but would ask before signing the card to be sure , ended up scratching the hole so it be came irrelevant anyhow


Thanks

its in the hazard, no need to take an unplayable, just take your normal drop with the penalty stroke/s depending on the stakes etc
 
This happened today and i have to admit i didnt know the answer to it ..

Player hits ball into lateral hazard (red) but decides its playable has a smack but only manages to bury it in the ground still in the hazard

Local rule of placing everywhere (except hazards of course )

Im fair sure he cant take an unplayable in a water hazard ( correct ? )

So what are his options please ?

As its still in the hazard does he still have the original options available with red stakes ? ie 2 club lengths not nearer the hole ? i did say i thought he would have this option but would ask before signing the card to be sure , ended up scratching the hole so it be came irrelevant anyhow


Thanks

I'm pretty sure he proceeds as if he hadn't tried to play a shot from the hazard, the reference point still being the point the ball originally crossed the hazard line, happy to be corrected.
 
This happened today and i have to admit i didnt know the answer to it ..

Player hits ball into lateral hazard (red) but decides its playable has a smack but only manages to bury it in the ground still in the hazard

Local rule of placing everywhere (except hazards of course )

Im fair sure he cant take an unplayable in a water hazard ( correct ? )

So what are his options please ?

As its still in the hazard does he still have the original options available with red stakes ? ie 2 club lengths not nearer the hole ? i did say i thought he would have this option but would ask before signing the card to be sure , ended up scratching the hole so it be came irrelevant anyhow


Thanks

You are correct about the unplayable but the rules cover it precisely.

[h=3]26-2. Ball Played Within Water Hazard[/h][h=4]a. Ball Comes to Rest in Same or Another Water Hazard[/h]If a ball played from within a water hazard comes to rest in the same or another water hazard after the stroke, the player may:

(i)
under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5); or

(ii)
proceed under Rule 26-1a, 26-1b or, if applicable, Rule 26-1c, incurring the penalty of one stroke under that Rule. For purposes of applying Rule 26-1b or 26-1c, the reference point is the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the hazard in which it lies.

Note: If the player proceeds under Rule 26-1a by dropping a ball in the hazard as near as possible to the spot from which the original ball was last played, but elects not to play the dropped ball, he may then proceed under Clause (i) above, Rule 26-1b or, if applicable, Rule 26-1c. If he does so, he incurs a total of two penalty strokes: the penalty of one stroke for proceeding under Rule 26-1a, and an additional penalty of one stroke for then proceeding under Clause (i) above, Rule 26-1b or Rule 26-1c.
 
Thanks to all , that is the option i said we should go for but to check before signing card , it ended up not being an issue but its good to know for future reference
 
Top