Plugged ball in casual water in the rough

There would normally be no relief for your ball embedded in the rough, just for a ball embedded on closely mown areas (Rule 25-2) in which case there is no question of precedence. If, however, there is a local rule in place extending relief to through the green, you could choose to take relief from the embedded ball first, and then play the ball where it lay or take relief from the casual water. Since you have to drop the ball as near as possible to where it lay, there might not seem to be much point but you could be in a situation where you can see that the NPR for relief from the casual water would put you in such a bad situation that it would be preferable to take relief from the embedded ball and play it as it then lay in the casual water. More usually, I'd expect, you would probably take relief from the casual water which would mean relief from the embedded ball.
 
Last edited:
the simple answer to your question is that neither has precedence, and the player can elect to proceed in which ever order he considers best (for him)

in the same vein you can take relief from one set of circumstances and end up in another relief situation.

the key is to be taking the correct relief from each situation as required by the rules

as with all relief situations, sometimes you get lucky and other times (your NPR from a rabbit hole is in the middle of a large rhododendron...) you cut a bad break :(
 
I think Duncan covered it well, you don't have to take relief from a plugged ball so if your intention is to play it and it's in casual water my understanding is you are entitled to relief but NPR can be bad therefore taking an unplayable maybe the best option
 
I'd suggest that the best approach would normally be to check out whether taking relief from the casual water would take you into a good place or a bad one. If good, that's fine but if bad , then take relief from the embedded ball and see if it were playable from the casual water. If that left you with an unplayable ball, remember that one of your options remains to play from where you made your previous stroke.
 
Top