Sid Rixon IV
Head Pro
Could someone please clarify the exact meaning of 15.3 please.
(Stroke Play)
"If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.
The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules".
From the spot where the wrong ball was struck or where the error is discovered?
In a comp on Saturday my FC, playing his third shot from thickish grass struck a wrong ball.
He was about 100yds from the green but struck it wide.
He played the same ball two more times before finding the green and then realising whilst about to putt.
We were all three sure of the spot the original error had occurred so he walked back and found the correct ball.
He played the correct ball with a two stroke penalty and got close to the pin for 5.
So, is the penalty applied on the green for 7 shots (5+2) or back to the spot for 5 shots (3+2)?
(Stroke Play)
"If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.
The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules".
From the spot where the wrong ball was struck or where the error is discovered?
In a comp on Saturday my FC, playing his third shot from thickish grass struck a wrong ball.
He was about 100yds from the green but struck it wide.
He played the same ball two more times before finding the green and then realising whilst about to putt.
We were all three sure of the spot the original error had occurred so he walked back and found the correct ball.
He played the correct ball with a two stroke penalty and got close to the pin for 5.
So, is the penalty applied on the green for 7 shots (5+2) or back to the spot for 5 shots (3+2)?
Last edited: