Playing outside the tee ruling.

Sid Rixon IV

Head Pro
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
1,509
Visit site
In a strokeplay comp I tee off 3rd on the 18th.
I go to insert my tee in almost the same spot as Players 1and2 played from and only then do I notice they have both played outside the teeing area - level with but to the left of the left side tee marker.
What is the correct procedure and penalty please?

(I'll describe what happened after I hear your decisions.)
 
In a strokeplay comp I tee off 3rd on the 18th.
I go to insert my tee in almost the same spot as Players 1and2 played from and only then do I notice they have both played outside the teeing area - level with but to the left of the left side tee marker.
What is the correct procedure and penalty please?

(I'll describe what happened after I hear your decisions.)

You pull your tee out and tee up from the proper place and carry on as normal. They both have to replay from within the teeing ground under 2 shot penalty.
 
2 stroke penalty and disregard all strokes played with the ball played from the wrong place. Play hole from correct place.

If they do not correct mistake prior to teeing of at the next hole they are DQ'd?

This is is what I think anyway!
 
rule 11-4b

b. Stroke Play
If a competitor, when starting a hole, plays a ball from outside the teeing ground, he incurs a penalty of two strokes and must then play a ball from within the teeing ground.
If the competitor makes a stroke from the next teeing ground without first correcting his mistake or, in the case of the last hole of the round, leaves the putting green without first declaring his intention to correct his mistake, he is disqualified.
The stroke from outside the teeing ground and any subsequent strokes by the competitor on the hole prior to his correction of the mistake do not count in his score.
 
Were their tees still in the ground? At what point in time is it too late to claim this?

I've picked up a couple of occasions when the player is still on the tee, but when the tee is picked up. It is impossible to prove.

What was their reaction?
 
Thank you guys.
They were unclear so I said that, in my opinion, they have to play again within the tee with a two stroke penalty and they did.
Its a short par three outside the clubhouse and as we approached the green Player 1 went in to consult the Pro.
Player 2 meanwhile had played his second ball close to the pin.
Player 1 came out and had been told they could play the original ball under penalty which he did.
Accepting that decision Player 2 marked his 18th as N/R ruling himself out of the comp.

So, in fact, Player 1 should have N/R'd?
 
Were their tees still in the ground? At what point in time is it too late to claim this?

I've picked up a couple of occasions when the player is still on the tee, but when the tee is picked up. It is impossible to prove.

What was their reaction?
I'm unclear what you mean.
Both had played their shots and stepped away.
None of us had noticed the error.
Only when I stepped up did I realise what they'd done.
 
I'm unclear what you mean.
Both had played their shots and stepped away.
None of us had noticed the error.
Only when I stepped up did I realise what they'd done.

What evidence was there , to confirm their exact tee position? A divot or tee left in, there must have been something to indicate where they teed from because when they step away it's difficult to be certain.

Just askin :)
 
What evidence was there , to confirm their exact tee position? A divot or tee left in, there must have been something to indicate where they teed from because when they step away it's difficult to be certain.

Just askin :)
Well, just saying - all three of us know exactly where they tee'd from - to the left of the left hand tee marker.
No need for forensic evidence ;)
 
My experience has been that if you want a rules decision the last person you ask is the club pro

I'd second that.....but they are no different to any other experienced player, you hear some utter rubbish from low handicappers who players new to the game think are somehow gurus on the rules. TBH I'm a bit surprised this pretty basic rule has a) caused confusion in the first place and b) been got wrong by the pro. As always, the only surefire way to rule on anything is to look it up!
 
Totally agree! But they are likely to be the first person to ask for the Rule Book - if you don't carry one anyway!

Not that I use it frequently as most rounds for me are practice rounds at the moment, but there is an official R&A rules app (definitely from Apple, not sure for android), encompassing the whole rule book but also with pictures and demonstrative videos for most rules I've looked at.

Not sure where that would fit into a lot of club rules I've seen where mobile phones are only permitted for use in car parks etc though. Common sense dictates it should be permitted and would be helpful in situations such as this.
 
It is available for android but in practice the little book (hardly bigger than a normal smartphone) is much easier to handle and search when out on the course.
 
Am I right in thinking that if the competition was a Stableford (form of strokeplay), they would only be out of that hole for teeing up from the wrong place, but not the whole comp?
 
Am I right in thinking that if the competition was a Stableford (form of strokeplay), they would only be out of that hole for teeing up from the wrong place, but not the whole comp?

They would get a 2 stroke penalty each but just for that hole, so both would either blob or 1 point depending on strokes received,
Next hole it's a clean sheet
 
Top