Playing a ball in a water hazard

JARS

Hacker
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
23
Location
Kildare, Republic of Ireland
Visit site
Your ball is just in a water hazard (red stakes) and you decide to play it. You don't make contact with the ball as cleanly as you would like and it goes further into the hazard, without crossing the hazard line again. What options are available?
 
Your ball is just in a water hazard (red stakes) and you decide to play it. You don't make contact with the ball as cleanly as you would like and it goes further into the hazard, without crossing the hazard line again. What options are available?

Rule 26-2a :thup:
 
Same as they were for when the ball went into the hazard originally.

Except that if playing under Stroke and Distance, the dropped ball must first strike the course in the hazard.
 
Same as they were for when the ball went into the hazard originally.

Except that if playing under Stroke and Distance, the dropped ball must first strike the course in the hazard.

If you decide to drop in the hazard and dont like the lie you can drop back where your shot that went into the hazard was taken but you need to add another shot. Unless you're guaranteed to have a playable lie then its a risky solution.
 
Your ball is just in a water hazard (red stakes) and you decide to play it. You don't make contact with the ball as cleanly as you would like and it goes further into the hazard, without crossing the hazard line again. What options are available?

As posted the answer lies in 26-2a but the short version is that you are permitted to regress. Basically you can revert to the options that you had when the first shot entered the hazard.

Decision 26-2/1 is a better guide to what that means score wise than the wording of the rule IMO because the rule makes constant reference to additional penalty when it's not that bad in practice.

Simple example - par 3 tee shot into water hazard. Player tries to play it and it remains in the hazard (let's say it sinks without trace!). If he hadn't played it from the hazard the player could have returned to the tee (as one of the options under 26-1) and be playing his 3rd shot. As he played it he would now be playing his 4th shot if he returns to the tee.

Hope this helps.
 
Your ball is just in a water hazard (red stakes) and you decide to play it. You don't make contact with the ball as cleanly as you would like and it goes further into the hazard, without crossing the hazard line again. What options are available?

Giving up is one of them I guess
:o
 
So essentially 26-1c is not an option (two clubs) as the ball did not 're-cross' the hazard. If red stakes it is often difficult to get a line between the point where the 'original' ball crossed the hazard and the pin; so back to where you played your 'original' ball before entering the hazard is the more likely option, under further penalty.
Oh, and 'bladeplayer', sorry i am not a "paddy" i am an Englishman in Kildare.
 
So essentially 26-1c is not an option (two clubs) as the ball did not 're-cross' the hazard. If red stakes it is often difficult to get a line between the point where the 'original' ball crossed the hazard and the pin; so back to where you played your 'original' ball before entering the hazard is the more likely option, under further penalty.
Oh, and 'bladeplayer', sorry i am not a "paddy" i am an Englishman in Kildare.

You can still use 26-1c as the reference point is where it 'last' crossed the hazard. You could take 10 attempts to get out the hazard, advancing it 5 yards each time and eventually decide to go back to where it first entered the hazard and drop within 2 clubs lengths, no closer the hole.
 
So essentially 26-1c is not an option (two clubs) as the ball did not 're-cross' the hazard. If red stakes it is often difficult to get a line between the point where the 'original' ball crossed the hazard and the pin; so back to where you played your 'original' ball before entering the hazard is the more likely option, under further penalty.
.
As the ball last crossed the margin marked with red stakes (albeit a couple of strokes ago) you may choose option 26-1c.
 
So essentially 26-1c is not an option (two clubs) as the ball did not 're-cross' the hazard. If red stakes it is often difficult to get a line between the point where the 'original' ball crossed the hazard and the pin; so back to where you played your 'original' ball before entering the hazard is the more likely option, under further penalty.
Oh, and 'bladeplayer', sorry i am not a "paddy" i am an Englishman in Kildare.

No bother i shoulda got my facts right instead of assuming , :(..
 
Top