Out of bounds behind you....

GeeJay

Assistant Pro
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
156
Location
NW Blighty
Visit site
Was playing in a mid-week Stableford this week. My second shot hit a tree and flew out of bounds (internal) behind me. There ensued a discussion on what should happen next.

I dropped a ball as near to the original position as possible and replayed my shot under a penalty of one stroke.

This was disputed by my playing partners, both have many years of golf behind them.

One said that I was 'out of the hole'... (ah don't think so).
One said I should treat the internal OOF as a hazard and play a shot from further back, keeping the OOF in play... (hmm maybe).

Anyone care to discuss, I'd be interested in getting an understanding of the correct procedure..

Cheers!
 
There is only one option for you if you go out of bounds, you take a one shot penalty and play again from the same spot. Which is what you did.
 
Otherwise known as stroke and distance. :D
I think part of the 'confusion' was due to ball ending up well behind the original position.

It felt like dropping and replaying was a slightly better option than it should have been, even though that's what it says in the rules. Had it been the case that I would have been dropping and replaying behind the point of going OOB (simple stroke and distance), then I would have been more certain of the ruling.
 
Dear goodness - the inventive ignorance of the rules of some experienced golfers, such as the posters PPs, sometimes knows no bounds (sorry that's a bad pun). I actually struggle quite hard to understand why anyone could get this one wrong. Well done poster. I hope you correct your PPs.
 
Dear goodness - the inventive ignorance of the rules of some experienced golfers, such as the posters PPs, sometimes knows no bounds (sorry that's a bad pun). I actually struggle quite hard to understand why anyone could get this one wrong. Well done poster. I hope you correct your PPs.

To inflict the most "damage" to a fellow-competitor or opponent?
icon6.png
 
I think part of the 'confusion' was due to ball ending up well behind the original position.

It felt like dropping and replaying was a slightly better option than it should have been, even though that's what it says in the rules. Had it been the case that I would have been dropping and replaying behind the point of going OOB (simple stroke and distance), then I would have been more certain of the ruling.

There isn't really anything to get confused about. There is nothing in the rules that changes the status of the ball because of where it is in relation to where it was hit from. OOB is OOB, a hazard is a hazard.
 
An example of the implementation of this stroke and distance rule where the required drop is closer to the hole than where the ball came to rest, is found in Decision 28/8.
[h=2]28/8
[/h] [h=4]Ball Deemed Unplayable; Place from Which Previous Stroke Played Is Nearer Hole[/h] Q.A player's ball strikes a rock and bounces farther away from the hole than the spot from which the stroke was played. The player deems the ball unplayable. May the player invoke the stroke-and-distance option of Rule 28 in the circumstances?


A.Yes
 
An example of the implementation of this stroke and distance rule where the required drop is closer to the hole than where the ball came to rest, is found in Decision 28/8.

Ball Deemed Unplayable; Place from Which Previous Stroke Played Is Nearer Hole

Q.A player's ball strikes a rock and bounces farther away from the hole than the spot from which the stroke was played. The player deems the ball unplayable. May the player invoke the stroke-and-distance option of Rule in the circumstances?


A.Yes

and of course - at a minor tangent - and lest we forget - the answer to the question in bold is always YES (irrespective of the circumstances)
 
I've always been tempted to over hit a putt into a bunker just so I can invoke that and see what discussion it triggers.
I played out of a green side bunker a couple of weeks ago and the ball flew across the green and into a water hazard on the other side. It didn't occur to me to drop another ball in the bunker and try again, but I guess I could have.
 
i find it crazy how even basic rules are incorrectly interpreted.

i was playing with a pro not long ago and he didn't even know you couldn't remove a oob post. that's his job!!!
 
I played out of a green side bunker a couple of weeks ago and the ball flew across the green and into a water hazard on the other side. It didn't occur to me to drop another ball in the bunker and try again, but I guess I could have.

Tiger Woods putted into the water at Augusta a few years ago. Added the penalty and took the putt again. One of those that "just doesn't seem right" but a perfectly valid choice.
 
i find it crazy how even basic rules are incorrectly interpreted.

i was playing with a pro not long ago and he didn't even know you couldn't remove a oob post. that's his job!!!

H'mm. I think 'his job' (if he is a playing Pro) is really to seek a ruling wherever there is the possibility of breaking a Rule! Or (if he's a Club Pro) to be able to access the USGA/R&A Rules and Decisions to find out!

(S)He's NOT meant to be an expert on The Rules - just to know how/where to find the definitive answers!
 
H'mm. I think 'his job' (if he is a playing Pro) is really to seek a ruling wherever there is the possibility of breaking a Rule! Or (if he's a Club Pro) to be able to access the USGA/R&A Rules and Decisions to find out!

(S)He's NOT meant to be an expert on The Rules - just to know how/where to find the definitive answers!

i'd agree that they cant know them all but you'd expect them to know the basics. what posts you can and cant move is "basics" imo
 
I've always been tempted to over hit a putt into a bunker just so I can invoke that and see what discussion it triggers.

I did once chip from the back of a green - got it badly wrong - and it ran miles off the front and away down a steep slope leaving me with a really difficult pitch back. Even though my ball ended up in the middle of the fairway and was 100% easily and straightforward playable, I took S&D - just to see the reaction. It was quizzical to say the least. As it was a friendly knock my PPs took my word for it.
 
Last edited:
Top