Order of Play

Dellboy

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
989
Location
Wilton, Nr Salisbury
Visit site
When on the green I was always told the furthest ball away, on or off the green putts first.

Now when playing yesterday the group in front were having a stand up argument on the green in front, (they marked there balls and waived us through) but it was all to do with who putts first.

After in the 19th I went over to them to find out what was going on, Player 1, was claiming, in stroke play you have to putt in the right order and as his mate didn't, he called on him to replay the stroke. (I also thought this was correct)

What happened was, player 2 was to putt first but as his ball stopped only 6-8 inches from the hole he went on to tap in which his mate said he was in the wrong and played out of turn.

This went on long after we left (so I was told) and after reading the rules I'm still not 100%, as I cant find anywhere its says you can tap in, out of turn.

Anyone point me to the rule please !!

Just to add if I putt up to the hole, I also just tap in myself, so need to know I'm OK in doing this.

Cheers

Del
 
In STROKEPLAY player 2 can elect to hole out after his first putt. In MATCHPLAY the player can not hole out as shots should be in strict order. If it was matchplay, player 1 could have asked player 2 to retake the shot.
 
as DCB says.....:thup:

Matchplay is more strategic as you are playing directly against your opponents and whatever they do can influence what you do, hence the rule about having the option to make them retake a shot played out of turn.

Strokeplay is about finishing the round as it's the score for 18 holes that's important so anyone can finish their strokes on a hole....within reason.




quite sad that they were having a stand up argument about a basic rule known to most golfers. Always keep a rule book in your bag, they are free:thup:
 
Matchplay

During Play of Hole
After both players have started play of the hole, the ball farther from the hole is played first. If the balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.

Playing Out of Turn
If a player plays when his opponent should have played, there is no penalty, but the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke so made and, in correct order, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played.

Stroke Play
[h=4]During Play of Hole
After the competitors have started play of the hole, the ball farthest from the hole is played first. If two or more balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.[/h][h=4]Playing out of Turn
If a competitior plays out of turn, there is no penalty and the ball is played as it lies. If, however, the Committee determines that competitors have agreed to play out of turn to give one of them an advantage, they are disqualified[/h]
 
Last edited:
Thank you for the reply's, you live and learn every day, I knew there were different rules for stroke play and match play but will hold my hands up and say I wasn't 100% sure of them .

Thanks rulefan for the links, will take a look later.

Cheers all
 
Just to explore this scene a little more and to set a little question for you (the usual suspects keep out!)

What if if the player arguing that he could recall a stroke played out of turn in stroke play had won the argument on the green and his fellow competitor had played the shot again. Taking it that the shot played out of turn was his fourth, what is his score (and why) for the hole

a) if the putt played out of turn was holed and then the player replayed it and holed it again;
b) if the putt played out of turn was not holed and the player replayed it and holed it?
 
Just to explore this scene a little more and to set a little question for you (the usual suspects keep out!)

What if if the player arguing that he could recall a stroke played out of turn in stroke play had won the argument on the green and his fellow competitor had played the shot again. Taking it that the shot played out of turn was his fourth, what is his score (and why) for the hole

a) if the putt played out of turn was holed and then the player replayed it and holed it again;
b) if the putt played out of turn was not holed and the player replayed it and holed it?

a) thats easy, 4 as once in the hole the ball is considered dead
b) playing the ball from the wrong place, so after a penalty it would be 6
 
I don't mean to be rude to anyone, but surely everyone that's watched any more than 10 minutes worth of golf on TV has seen pro's tap in out of turn?
At local level people normally say "OK if I finish?" but you don't even have to do that as it's your right to do so. Politeness hurts no-one though :)

I played with a junior a few weeks ago and he said the week before he'd played with a guy that is known for being "red hot" on enforcing the rules.
Apparently the junior said "OK if I finish this off" after a putt finished close and the bloke said "only if you want a 2 shot penalty for playing out of turn".

Fair enough enforce the rules, but don't make them up then sound as if you know what you're talking about!! :sbox:

Not a lot gets to me, but that does.
 
a) thats easy, 4 as once in the hole the ball is considered dead
b) playing the ball from the wrong place, so after a penalty it would be 6

Just thinking in words but for 'B' in replaying a shot player now played from the 'wrong place' and even though holed does player still need to correct that breach & hole it again or have you factored that into the 6?
 
Just thinking in words but for 'B' in replaying a shot player now played from the 'wrong place' and even though holed does player still need to correct that breach & hole it again or have you factored that into the 6?

I think...

Already played 4
Penalty for moving ball
Penalty for not replacing ball
Holed next putt so 7.
 
Wow, what a knob who started that row. And region3's two shot penalty tap in bloke.
I'm surprised they can find anyone to play with.
 
a) As already answered - the putt although played out of order was legitimately holed. The player's subsequent 'replaying' of it doesn't have any significance. He scores 4.

b) So was it a 6 or was it a 7? Remember the player replayed his putt and so he did not play from a wrong place but from where he played his previous stroke. 27-1 (stroke and distance) applies. So that's 4 + 1 stroke + 1 penalty stroke. It's a 6.
 
a) As already answered - the putt although played out of order was legitimately holed. The player's subsequent 'replaying' of it doesn't have any significance. He scores 4.

b) So was it a 6 or was it a 7? Remember the player replayed his putt and so he did not play from a wrong place but from where he played his previous stroke. 27-1 (stroke and distance) applies. So that's 4 + 1 stroke + 1 penalty stroke. It's a 6.

So first putt is 4. Ball moved rest moved by player is a penalty. Second putt is 6. but now because he has breeched rule 18 the initial penalty of one now becomes a 2 stroke penalty. Give him 7 by any chance??
 
Last edited:
So first putt is 4. Ball moved rest moved by player is a penalty. Second putt is 6. but now because he has breeched rule 18 the initial penalty of one now becomes a 2 stroke penalty. Give him 7 by any chance??

He made 4 strokes before being called (incorrectly).
He played again from where he played his 4th. His stroke was not cancelled but it is deemed that he played under rule 27 (ie stroke and distance). That stroke was his 5th plus the S&D penalty making 6.
Rule 18 is not applicable.
 
Top