Opting for stroke and distance takes me nearer to the pin

LincolnShep

Head Pro
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
1,322
Visit site
OK, this is quite an unusual scenario but we all like them don't we?! I've attached a map to make it easier to explain.

I play my ball from point A (green in front and bunker behind). I knife my wedge straight over the green, it hits a wall at the back of the green and bounces behind me and trickles over the lip of a bunker and sticks at point B. I'm in the hazard but right up against the face and have bob hope of getting it out.

I decide to declare the ball unplayable at which point I have three options, under penalty of one stroke:
  1. drop back on line between the flag and where my ball came to rest
  2. drop a ball within to club lengths nearer the hole
  3. play from where my last shot was player
As I'm in a bunker, the first two would require me to drop within the same bunker. However, the third option gets me out of the bunker but nearer the hole. Am I allowed to take that option?

Thanks,
Shep
 

Attachments

As said - yes - as you could do if you were 1ft from the hole with a wicked super-duper fast downhill putt - and you putted off the green and into a greenside bunker and immediately up against the face - just take S&D back to where you putted from.

BTW - No need to declare unplayable as you can take S&D any time you want - so if a shot ends up in the middle of the fairway with perfect lie you can take S&D - if you really want to...
 
You might want to notice that there is no mention of not nearer the hole in Rule 27-1a. It simply says "the spot from which the original ball was last played."
 
You might want to notice that there is no mention of not nearer the hole in Rule 27-1a. It simply says "the spot from which the original ball was last played."
This topic came up for me a few years ago. I thinned a drive off a white tee which struck the stone marker of the yellow tee in front and rebounded back over my head, landing some 20 yards behind me. As it happened, it wasn't unplayable, but there was some debate about how to proceed. In the end I played 2 from where the ball now lay, but we established that I could have played 3 off the tee, i.e. nearer to the hole, under penalty of stroke and distance.
 
You sure about that? ....I know it's academic but under which rule could you lift the ball and go back if not the unplayable ball rule?

27-1a. At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e. proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
 
Top