OOB posts

effayjay

Club Champion
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
135
Visit site
My ball lands close to a wooden post marking OOB that divides two fairways. I am the "wrong side" of the boundary but the OOB does not apply to my fairway. The post marker interferes with my swing. It can be easily moved. What do the rules say about this please?
 
Interesting one....I would guess that as it's an internal OOB and they are not defining OOB on the hole in play then they would be movable obstructions when playing your hole and can therefore be moved without penalty. On the hole where they are "in play" then you wouldn't be able to do so as on that hole they are defining OOB. Could be wrong though....looking at the definition it may need wording in the local rule??
 
[h=2]24/5[/h][h=4]Boundary Stakes Having No Significance in Play of Hole Being Played[/h]Q.White stakes installed between the 7th and 8th holes define out of bounds during play of the 7th hole, but they have no significance during play of the 8th hole. Are such stakes obstructions during play of the 8th hole?
A.No, the Definition of "Out of Bounds" states that such stakes are not obstructions. However, in this case it is recommended that, by Local Rule, the stakes be deemed immovable obstructions during play of the 8th hole.
 
Thanks. Have just looked at the local rules (should have done this before posting).

Immovable obstructions:
a.
b.The gullies and marker posts marking the internal OOB when not playing the hole for which they are intended.
 
Any idea on the reasoning for them being immovable obstructions? Seems slightly illogical to me as stake type markers can usually be removed and replaced after the shot quite easily.

To ensure they are not removed and put back in the wrong place or simply left on the ground.
 
Top