OOB Marker

winty57

Assistant Pro
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
175
Location
Bognor Regis
Visit site
When playing internal OOB and the hole you are playing is not OOB if you hit it right of the markers but it interferes with stance or swing can it be removed and replaced without penalty, as if it were OOB playing the other hole you cannot remove.
Look forward to the replies, cheers
 
They are classed a fixed so cannot be removed. however, We have a local rule on our course to permit removal of said post
 
They are classed a fixed so cannot be removed. however, We have a local rule on our course to permit removal of said post

So if there is not a local rule, are all white OOB posts fixed and not removable objects.
 
So if there is not a local rule, are all white OOB posts fixed and not removable objects.

Yup. Decision 24/5: Boundary Stakes Having No Significance in Play of Hole Being Played
Qu: White stakes installed between the 7th and 8th holes define out of bounds during play of the 7th hole, but they have no significance during play of the 8th hole. Are such stakes obstructions during play of the 8th hole?
Ans: No, the Definition of “Out of Bounds” states that such stakes are not obstructions. However, in this case it is recommended that, by Local Rule, the stakes be deemed immovable obstructions during play of the 8th hole.
 
Yup. Decision 24/5: Boundary Stakes Having No Significance in Play of Hole Being Played
Qu: White stakes installed between the 7th and 8th holes define out of bounds during play of the 7th hole, but they have no significance during play of the 8th hole. Are such stakes obstructions during play of the 8th hole?
Ans: No, the Definition of “Out of Bounds” states that such stakes are not obstructions. However, in this case it is recommended that, by Local Rule, the stakes be deemed immovable obstructions during play of the 8th hole.[

Does this mean that to take free relief there has to be a Local rule in force?
 
The one mentioned above declaring them to be Immovable Obstructions does the job automatically as free relief is now available under Rule 24-2.

If such a Local Rule was not in force, they are Movable Obstruction. So, the play could move them out of the way - with all the attendant problems of putting them back properly or at all.
 
Last edited:
:confused: I'm not with that. Without the local rule they are simply Out of Bounds stakes and consequently not obstructions, are they ?

Hence my question #3, I can understand the removing of them when they are internal (splitting 2 neighbouring fairways) but not relevant to the hole you are playing, but there is some conflicting general comments now above :confused:
 
Hence my question #3, I can understand the removing of them when they are internal (splitting 2 neighbouring fairways) but not relevant to the hole you are playing, but there is some conflicting general comments now above :confused:

I took it that without the local rule being in place, then they are obstructions and are therefore immovable with no relief, even if they are not relevant to the hole you are playing.

The local rule has to be there for you to get relief.
 
I took it that without the local rule being in place, then they are obstructions and are therefore immovable with no relief, even if they are not relevant to the hole you are playing.

The local rule has to be there for you to get relief.

This makes sense but then we know that some of the rules are not always logical, I'm wondering if Rulesfan has simply made a typo :confused:
 
I was referring to the LR in the last para of post #4

So the rule is in place for situations like that given for the 8th hole that they can be moved but it is recommended that a local rule is put in place for better clarification, is that right?
 
Decision 24/5 should clear the entire issue up!

24/5 Boundary Stakes Having No Significance in Play of Hole Being Played
Q.White stakes installed between the 7th and 8th holes define out of bounds during play of the 7th hole, but they have no significance during play of the 8th hole. Are such stakes obstructions during play of the 8th hole?

A.No, the Definition of "Out of Bounds" states that such stakes are not obstructions. However, in this case it is recommended that, by Local Rule, the stakes be deemed immovable obstructions during play of the 8th hole.
 
So the rule is in place for situations like that given for the 8th hole that they can be moved but it is recommended that a local rule is put in place for better clarification, is that right?
In effect, yes. Otherwise they would be movable obstructions. As said, not a good idea.
 
In effect, yes. Otherwise they would be movable obstructions. As said, not a good idea.

I'm thoroughly confused! Without the local rule I thought that they are an integral part of the course, even if they are not relevant to the hole in play (as per 24/5). The local rule can define them as immovable obstructions but I can't see how they are moveable obstructions under any circumstance.
 
I'm thoroughly confused! Without the local rule I thought that they are an integral part of the course, even if they are not relevant to the hole in play (as per 24/5). The local rule can define them as immovable obstructions but I can't see how they are moveable obstructions under any circumstance.

He's referring to the situation where they are down a split fairway (internal) as in the example given, they are OOB for the 7th hole but not OOB for the 8th and as such they could be moved with or without a local rule on the 8th as they are not a boudary for that hole and can be moved as under rule 24-2





I think..
 
I'm thoroughly confused! Without the local rule I thought that they are an integral part of the course, even if they are not relevant to the hole in play (as per 24/5). The local rule can define them as immovable obstructions but I can't see how they are moveable obstructions under any circumstance.

This is my understanding, and I think the Decision quoted above confirms this. The answer refers to "such stakes" which in the context of the decision I take to mean stakes such as those described in the question, i.e. defining an internal OOB which applies to one hole but not another. Accordingly the decision indicates to me that without the LR they are not "obstructions" and are deemed to be fixed in accordance with the definition of OOB.
 
He's referring to the situation where they are down a split fairway (internal) as in the example given, they are OOB for the 7th hole but not OOB for the 8th and as such they could be moved with or without a local rule on the 8th as they are not a boudary for that hole and can be moved as under rule 24-2





I think..

The decision 24/5 confirms that they are not obstructions as they are still an OOB marker even if the OOB is only relevant for the adjacent hole.
 
Why can't things be explained and written in layman's terms without all the jargon and confusing wording, a simple all OOB markers are fixed and cannot be removed unless in the following circumstances......

KISS
 
I don't think players can ever remove OOB stakes. What if there are 2 stakes at either end of hole 1 defining the internal OOB that is only applicable to that hole and not the adjacent hole 2. A player on hole 2 removes one stake to play his shot. Meanwhile, a player on hole 1 hits his ball and it heads towards hole 2. Is his ball OOB as when he played his shot there is no clear definition of where the OOB is? What would happen if a player forgot to replace the stake or put it back in the wrong place?
 
Top